Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 16 material differences

CCIM Institute vs NVCA

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

CCIM Institute

Commercial real estate practitioners — brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers — pursuing or holding the CCIM designation

Verified September 2026
Professional association

NVCA

Firms that invest venture-stage risk equity capital in the United States, plus the service providers who work with them

What the records say

Side by side

CCIM InstituteNVCA
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1967 (CCIM's own designation page states "Since 1967, more than 20,000 professionals have completed the CCIM Designation program"; its homepage says the Institute has operated for more than 56 years.) 1973 (Founding year of 1973 is reported by secondary reference sources; NVCA's own site does not state it on the pages checked)
Headquarters Chicago, United States Washington, United States
Geographic footprint Members in more than 30 countries; chapters across the United States plus Canada, Puerto Rico, Japan, Korea and Taiwan United States, with offices in Washington DC and San Francisco
Members 13,000as of September 2026 Could not be independently verified — NVCA publishes a full member directory but no headline count; secondary sources cite figures between 400 and 460 member firms without a clear date
Chapters 59 Not publicly disclosed — NVCA has no chapter structure; it operates from two offices
Primary audience Commercial real estate practitioners — brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers — pursuing or holding the CCIM designation Firms that invest venture-stage risk equity capital in the United States, plus the service providers who work with them
Typical member Members are working commercial real estate practitioners rather than a wealth or seniority cohort. Candidate members are practitioners studying for the designation; designees have completed the curriculum, submitted a portfolio of qualifying experience and passed a comprehensive exam. Member organizations are venture partnerships, corporate venture groups, family offices, funds of funds and university or accelerator programmes that invest risk equity capital in the US. Membership is held by the firm rather than the individual.
Qualification
Minimum employees No published minimum employees At least one full-time employee (or full-time equivalent) dedicated to private equity investingverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Must be investing or planning to invest risk equity capital in the United StatesOpen to non-US firms that invest into the USverified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction Candidate membership is open to commercial real estate practitioners; no prior designation or advanced degree is requiredPractitioners who are not pursuing the designation may also join in order to take courses.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published industry restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Practitioners join online as candidate members and pay annual dues, then work through the designation curriculum at their own pace. Applications for the special designee categories — life membership, retirement, leave of absence — are reviewed twice a year, with a spring deadline of 27 March 2026 for the current cycle. A firm submits an application form at nvca.org/nvca-application-form/ or contacts the membership team. Eligibility is checked against the risk-capital and staffing tests, and dues are set from the firm's committed capital band. There is no published interview or sponsorship step.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed as an acceptance rate. Membership itself is open; the filter is the designation, which requires curriculum completion, a qualifying-experience portfolio and a comprehensive exam. Not publicly disclosed — NVCA states eligibility criteria but does not publish acceptance or rejection data
Cost
Annual dues $695 a yearCandidate membership, United States. Dues prorate in the shopping cart for members joining after 31 January.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $500–35,000 a yearStandard VC fund category, banded by committed capital across funds closed in the past ten years: $500 at $5M; $1,000 for $5M–$9.9M; $2,000–$6,000 for $10M–$99.9M (plus $500 per additional $10M); $10,000–$17,500 for $100M–$499.9M (plus $2,500 per additional $100M); $22,500–$32,500 for $500M–$999.9M; $35,000 and above for $1B+ (plus $5,000 per additional $500M)verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Candidate dues are published; the standard designee rate is not. Course fees for the designation curriculum are separate from membership dues. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues Not publicly disclosed; chapter dues are not listed on the national membership pages.verified September 2026 Dues are firm-level and set from committed capital in funds closed over the previous ten years.
Programme fee Not recorded here. The designation curriculum is priced separately from dues under CCIM's "Designation Program: Time & Cost" schedule, which was not read for this record.verified September 2026 Dues are firm-level and set from committed capital in funds closed over the previous ten years.
Membership term Calendar year, with dues prorated for members joining after 31 January Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter events year-round plus national Spring and Fall Forums National events through the year, including the Strategic Operations and Policy Summit and the Leadership Awards Dinner; advisory committees meet separately
Peer forums Local chapters organised across 13 regions; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published No peer-forum structure; members organise through advisory committees and policy working groups
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed; CCIM publishes a Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice Could not be independently verified — no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Cohort-based, Event-focused Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums Partial No
Local chapters Yes No
Virtual membership Partial No
Online community Partial Partial
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Partial
Leadership development Yes Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming Partial No
Investment discussions Yes Partial
Investment opportunities Partial No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High Medium
Social emphasis Low Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CCIM Institute · NVCA