Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 13 material differences

CCIM Institute vs Urban Land Institute

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

CCIM Institute

Commercial real estate practitioners — brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers — pursuing or holding the CCIM designation

What the records say

Side by side

CCIM InstituteUrban Land Institute
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1967 (CCIM's own designation page states "Since 1967, more than 20,000 professionals have completed the CCIM Designation program"; its homepage says the Institute has operated for more than 56 years.) 1936 (Founded 14 December 1936; the Urban Land Institute name was adopted in 1939 per Wikipedia's history of the organisation.)
Headquarters Chicago, United States Washington, United States
Geographic footprint Members in more than 30 countries; chapters across the United States plus Canada, Puerto Rico, Japan, Korea and Taiwan Members in 80+ countries; district councils across the United States, Canada and Mexico, with separate ULI Europe and ULI Asia Pacific regions
Members 13,000as of September 2026 45,000as of August 2026
Chapters 59 57
Primary audience Commercial real estate practitioners — brokers, investors, asset managers, lenders, appraisers and developers — pursuing or holding the CCIM designation Professionals across the land use and real estate industry — developers, investors, lenders, architects, planners, public officials and academics
Typical member Members are working commercial real estate practitioners rather than a wealth or seniority cohort. Candidate members are practitioners studying for the designation; designees have completed the curriculum, submitted a portfolio of qualifying experience and passed a comprehensive exam. ULI's own materials describe a cross-disciplinary membership of developers, investors, designers, builders, buyers, sellers, urban planners and public officials. Wikipedia's breakdown of the membership puts developers at 28 percent, capital sources at 13 percent, service providers at 10 percent and the public sector at 10 percent.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Under 35 qualifies for a reduced dues rateULI's membership FAQ states it offers 50–75 percent savings for individuals under age 35, for professionals in non-profit organisations, government or academia, and for students. Under-35 members are also the constituency for the Young Leaders Group. This is a discount band, not a barrier to joining.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction Candidate membership is open to commercial real estate practitioners; no prior designation or advanced degree is requiredPractitioners who are not pursuing the designation may also join in order to take courses.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Open to professionals across the real estate and land use industryULI describes itself as "a diverse network of private and public professionals spanning the real estate and land use industry, including developers, investors, designers, builders, buyers, sellers, urban planners, and public officials". No revenue, seniority or wealth test is published.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Practitioners join online as candidate members and pay annual dues, then work through the designation curriculum at their own pace. Applications for the special designee categories — life membership, retirement, leave of absence — are reviewed twice a year, with a spring deadline of 27 March 2026 for the current cycle. Applicants create a ULI account and join online, or join by email, phone or post using a printed application with payment. Membership is open on application; ULI's published materials describe no sponsor, interview or committee review. Dues can be paid in one annual payment, on annual auto-renewal, or in twelve monthly instalments, which require a twelve-month commitment.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed as an acceptance rate. Membership itself is open; the filter is the designation, which requires curriculum completion, a qualifying-experience portfolio and a comprehensive exam. Not publicly disclosed; ULI publishes no acceptance rate and its published joining route is open enrolment rather than selection. Invitation-based selection applies within ULI to product councils, not to membership itself.
Cost
Annual dues $695 a yearCandidate membership, United States. Dues prorate in the shopping cart for members joining after 31 January.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $1,332 a yearFull membership, United States standard rate ($111 per month on the instalment plan). From ULI's own US individual membership application; the form states rates were valid for payments received by 30 June 2023, so the current rate may differ.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Candidate dues are published; the standard designee rate is not. Course fees for the designation curriculum are separate from membership dues. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues Not publicly disclosed; chapter dues are not listed on the national membership pages.verified September 2026 Not publicly disclosed. District council participation is included in national dues in ULI's published materials; no separate district council fee is advertised.verified September 2026
Programme fee Not recorded here. The designation curriculum is priced separately from dues under CCIM's "Designation Program: Time & Cost" schedule, which was not read for this record.verified September 2026 Dues rates recorded here come from ULI's own FY2023 United States individual membership application, which states the rates were valid for payments received by 30 June 2023. ULI's current site (uli.org) blocks automated retrieval, so a 2026 rate card could not be read. Rates also differ by country: ULI publishes separate applications for Canada, Mexico and Latin America and the Caribbean.
Membership term Calendar year, with dues prorated for members joining after 31 January 12 months, expiring on the last day of the anniversary month; annual renewal, with auto-renewal and monthly instalment options
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter events year-round plus national Spring and Fall Forums District council events year-round plus ULI Spring Meeting and Fall Meeting; ULI cites 2,900+ events worldwide each year across in-person and online formats
Peer forums Local chapters organised across 13 regions; no confidential facilitated peer forum is published ULI Forums and Product Councils are topic-specific member groups that meet regularly; district councils run local committees and a Young Leaders Group
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed; CCIM publishes a Code of Ethics and Standards of Practice Not publicly disclosed as a general membership rule; ULI publishes a Code of Ethics rather than a confidentiality regime
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Cohort-based, Event-focused Chapter-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial Yes
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Partial No
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No Partial
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Not documented
Next-generation programming Partial Yes
Investment discussions Yes Yes
Investment opportunities Partial No
Philanthropic component No Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Low Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CCIM Institute · Urban Land Institute