Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 10 material differences

Central Texas Angel Network vs Portfolia

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Investment community

Central Texas Angel Network

Accredited investors, family offices and investment groups who want to make their own early-stage investments in Texas companies

Verified September 2026
Investment community

Portfolia

Accredited investors, predominantly women, who want to invest in venture funds and take part in the diligence process rather than write individual angel cheques

What the records say

Side by side

Central Texas Angel NetworkPortfolia
Profile
Type Investment community Investment community
Founded 2006 Not documented
Headquarters Austin, United States San Mateo, United States
Geographic footprint Austin-based, serving Texas statewide; accepts out-of-state members at a lower dues level Investors in 48 US states and 20 countries; funds invest principally in US companies
Members 140as of September 2026 2,200as of September 2026
Chapters Single organisation; no chapters No chapters; the organisation is structured around funds
Primary audience Accredited investors, family offices and investment groups who want to make their own early-stage investments in Texas companies Accredited investors, predominantly women, who want to invest in venture funds and take part in the diligence process rather than write individual angel cheques
Typical member All members qualify as accredited investors under US federal securities law. The membership includes individuals and couples, family offices and other investment groups, and a distinct out-of-state cohort who must live full-time outside Texas. Investors are accredited under SEC rules and span people new to venture and experienced investors. The community is designed by and for women, though the FAQ states men are welcome. Average commitment is about $35,000 per fund.
Qualification
Accredited-investor status Must qualify as an accredited investor under US federal securities lawStated on the prospective member information page and repeated on the membership types pageverified September 2026 · source ↗ All investors in Portfolia funds must be accredited investors: income of $200,000+ for the last two years and expected forward, or $300,000+ with a spouse, or net assets excluding the home of $1 millionQuoted from the Portfolia FAQverified September 2026 · source ↗
Gender No published gender Funds are designed by and for women; the FAQ states men are welcome to investNot an exclusionverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction Out-of-state membership tiers require the member (and all group designees) to reside full-time outside Texasverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published geographic restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants complete the CTAN membership agreement and sign the rules of membership and conduct, meet a CTAN board member to complete qualification, submit an application form, and pay prorated annual dues. Accredited-investor status is required, and the group asks for relevant investment experience or a genuine interest in learning from peers and mentoring founders. Prospective investors complete an online form or book an introductory call with the investor relations team, then commit to an open fund. Accredited-investor status is required. Funds close when subscribed, and some are marked as accepting only larger commitments once near capacity.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed. Access is limited by fund capacity rather than by a selection committee.
Cost
Annual dues $2,500 a yearIndividual or couple membership (in-state), first year; dues fall by $500 from the second yearverified September 2026 · source ↗ There are no membership dues. Participation is through a fund commitment rather than a subscription.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee No initiation fee is published; first-year dues are prorated by month of joiningverified September 2026 · source ↗ The published financial commitment is the $10,000 fund minimum. Management fees and carry are not disclosed publicly.
Membership term Annual, renewing 1 December Fund life of up to seven years per commitment
Structure
Meeting frequency Regular pitch meetings plus education events and social gatherings Monthly live pitch calls with founders, plus investing classes and events
Peer forums Not documented Each fund is led by domain expert partners; investors may join due diligence at the level they choose
Confidentiality Members sign CTAN rules of membership and conduct; deal material sits behind the Dealum platform Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Self-directed; the platform states investors participate according to available time and expertise
Organized as Event-focused, Virtual Virtual, Cohort-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No Partial
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership Yes Yes
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Yes Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development No Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Yes No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Yes Yes
Investment opportunities Yes Yes
Philanthropic component No Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Central Texas Angel Network · Portfolia