Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 16 material differences

Chief Executive Network vs REF

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Peer advisory

Chief Executive Network

CEOs, presidents and owners of privately held and mid-market US companies, grouped with non-competing peers in the same industry and revenue band

Verified September 2026
Peer advisory

REF

CEOs, owners and presidents, with parallel tracks for C-suite executives reporting to the CEO and for high-potential managers on leadership programmes

What the records say

Side by side

Chief Executive NetworkREF
Profile
Type Peer advisory Peer advisory
Founded 1990 (CEN's own history page dates the launch to 1990, following work by Dr. Ronald E. Wiley leading CEO groups in the 1980s. CEN publishes no separate corporate address; the postal address in its own privacy policy is that of its parent, Chief Executive Group, LLC, 105 West Park Dr., Suite 400, Brentwood, Tennessee. Member enquiries route to a Lawrence, Kansas telephone number.) 1994 (Entrepreneur's franchise directory records the company as founded in 1994 and franchising since 1994. REF's own site says only "Founded 30 years ago in the USA" and "With 30 years of experience", which is consistent.)
Headquarters Brentwood, United States San Diego, United States
Geographic footprint United States: national industry groups meeting at airport-hub cities, plus local boards in roughly ten metro areas 51 locations across 20 countries in North America, Central and South America, Europe and Asia; the largest concentration is in Latin America
Members 1,000as of September 2026 3,000as of January 2025
Chapters CEN does not publish a total count of peer groups. Its 'By Location' page names local board markets and its 'By Industry' page names eight industry networks. 51
Primary audience CEOs, presidents and owners of privately held and mid-market US companies, grouped with non-competing peers in the same industry and revenue band CEOs, owners and presidents, with parallel tracks for C-suite executives reporting to the CEO and for high-potential managers on leadership programmes
Typical member CEN says most members run companies with roughly $10 million to $1 billion in revenue, with networks spanning $5 million to $2.5 billion. The industry concentration is in manufacturing, distribution, technology and software, architecture/engineering and construction trades. Members are CEOs, owners and presidents of non-competing businesses, plus CXOs and upper management reporting directly to the CEO in the Key Executive track and high performers selected for leadership programmes in the High Potentials track. REF publishes no revenue or headcount threshold, though its application form asks for employee count and revenue.
Qualification
Role or title Must be a CEO, President or Business OwnerCEN's 2026 member guide states the personal membership criterion verbatim.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Top Executive track: CEO, owner, president or equivalentREF's own application page lists the candidate requirements for each track.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue Networks span roughly $5 million to $2.5 billion in company revenueCEN's guide says it "has networks from $5 Million to $2.5 Billion" and that most members run $10 million-$1 billion companies. There is no single published floor.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum company revenue
Geographic restriction United StatesCEN describes itself as a US-based network for US CEOs.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published geographic restriction
Industry restriction Industry networks cover architecture, biotechnology, engineering, general contracting, lodging/hospitality, manufacturing, software/technology and sub-contractingCEN does not run an industry network for every sector.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published industry restriction
Invitation required No Sometimes
Sponsor required No No
Application process Prospective members request a member guide and meeting agenda through the website or by phone, then speak with CEN staff about fit. CEN places the candidate in a group matched by industry, revenue band and region, checking that no direct competitor is already in the room. There is no published application form or committee vote. Applicants complete an online form selecting one of three tracks (Top Executive, Key Executive or High Potentials) and supplying title, industry, city, country, employee count and revenue. REF then contacts the candidate and, if accepted, places them in a local Forum of non-competing executives with a certified Forum Leader.
Selectivity No acceptance rate is published. CEN says groups are "intentionally kept small" and that members are vetted for comparable scale and competitor-free status. Not publicly disclosed. REF describes its peer groups as "by invitation only" while operating a public application form, and publishes no acceptance data.
Cost
Annual dues $5,500–12,280 a yearNational industry networks; CEN's own 2026 guide gives "$5,500 to $12,280 (Based on co size)". Includes benchmark research and a conference.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. REF publishes no membership price; the Peer Resources directory also recorded fees as unavailable at publication. Members are described elsewhere as paying monthly dues.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues $6,400–9,500 a yearLocal boards: "$6,400 for core membership ($9,500 option includes benchmark research and a conference)" per CEN's own 2026 guide.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Member fees are not publicly disclosed anywhere on REF's site. The only published figures are franchise costs for prospective Forum Leaders.
Membership term Annual Not documented
Structure
Meeting frequency National industry groups meet twice a year for two days; local boards meet quarterly for half a day; plus national summits and online masterclasses One Forum morning each month, plus webinars, community events and curated trips and retreats
Peer forums Groups of roughly 8-12 non-competing CEOs matched by industry and revenue band, professionally facilitated Forums of 12-15 executives from non-competing industries, led by a certified REF Forum Leader, meeting monthly in a three-part structure: expert insight, round table, and a member case
Confidentiality CEN describes meetings as confidential with a strict no-sell rule and no vendors in the room Forums are described as confidential, high-trust environments built on transparency and trust; one senior figure calls the Forum a "Circle of Trust"
Time commitment Roughly four to six meeting days a year plus quarterly mentor calls, per CEN's published meeting cadence One morning a month for the Forum, plus optional events
Organized as Forum-based, Chapter-based, Event-focused Forum-based, Chapter-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Yes Yes
Local chapters Yes Yes
Virtual membership Partial Not documented
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Not documented Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats No Yes
Travel No Yes
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming No Partial
Investment discussions Partial Partial
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Low Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Chief Executive Network · REF