Comparison · 15 material differences
CREW Network vs Urban Land Institute
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
What the records say
- Maximum age at joining: CREW Network: No published maximum age at joining; Urban Land Institute: Under 35 qualifies for a reduced dues rate.
- Gender: CREW Network: "Membership is open to both women and men, as men are important allies in the advancement of women." CREW also states it welcomes applicants "of all backgrounds, experience levels, genders, race, ethnicity, origin, sexual orientation, and ability"; Urban Land Institute: No published gender.
- Geographic restriction: CREW Network: Applicants join through the chapter or affiliate nearest them; at-large membership is for those with no chapter or affiliate "within a reasonable distance" of their primary residence; Urban Land Institute: No published geographic restriction.
- Industry restriction: CREW Network: "you must be employed in a full-time professional position with responsibility in one of CREW Network's Qualified Fields of Commercial Real Estate"; Urban Land Institute: Open to professionals across the real estate and land use industry.
- Annual dues: CREW Network: $139–229 a year; Urban Land Institute: $1,332 a year.
Side by side
| CREW Network | Urban Land Institute | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Professional association | Professional association |
| Founded | 1989 (Founded in 1989 to enable women in commercial real estate to exchange information, develop business contacts and advance professionally.) | 1936 (Founded 14 December 1936; the Urban Land Institute name was adopted in 1939 per Wikipedia's history of the organisation.) |
| Headquarters | Lawrence, United States | Washington, United States |
| Geographic footprint | "more than 14,000 members in over 80 major markets worldwide"; chapters are incorporated independently in their state or province across North America, with global affiliate groups typically formed outside North America | Members in 80+ countries; district councils across the United States, Canada and Mexico, with separate ULI Europe and ULI Asia Pacific regions |
| Members | 14,000as of September 2026 | 45,000as of August 2026 |
| Chapters | 85 | 57 |
| Primary audience | Professionals working full time in commercial real estate - transaction, design, development, construction, management and investment disciplines - who want to advance women in the industry | Professionals across the land use and real estate industry: developers, investors, lenders, architects, planners, public officials and academics |
| Typical member | Full-time commercial real estate professionals across all disciplines of the industry. Full membership requires that the majority of an individual's responsibilities lie within commercial real estate and that their field is necessary to the transaction, design, development, construction, management, investment or functioning of commercial real estate; those who only supply goods and services to the industry are admitted as affiliate or vendor members instead. | ULI's own materials describe a cross-disciplinary membership of developers, investors, designers, builders, buyers, sellers, urban planners and public officials. Wikipedia's breakdown of the membership puts developers at 28 percent, capital sources at 13 percent, service providers at 10 percent and the public sector at 10 percent. |
| Qualification | ||
| Maximum age at joining | No published maximum age at joining | Under 35 qualifies for a reduced dues rateULI's membership FAQ states it offers 50–75 percent savings for individuals under age 35, for professionals in non-profit organisations, government or academia, and for students. Under-35 members are also the constituency for the Young Leaders Group. This is a discount band, not a barrier to joining.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Gender | "Membership is open to both women and men, as men are important allies in the advancement of women." CREW also states it welcomes applicants "of all backgrounds, experience levels, genders, race, ethnicity, origin, sexual orientation, and ability"The organisation's mission is to accelerate success for all women in global commercial real estate, but membership itself is not restricted by genderverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published gender |
| Geographic restriction | Applicants join through the chapter or affiliate nearest them; at-large membership is for those with no chapter or affiliate "within a reasonable distance" of their primary residence"While most members are located in North America, CREW Network is expanding globally, and we welcome new members from all continents."verified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published geographic restriction |
| Industry restriction | "you must be employed in a full-time professional position with responsibility in one of CREW Network's Qualified Fields of Commercial Real Estate"CREW's screening question is: "Is the applicant's field necessary to the transaction, design, development, construction, management, investment and/or functioning of CRE?" If not, the applicant is admitted as an affiliate or vendor member rather than a full member.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Open to professionals across the real estate and land use industryULI describes itself as "a diverse network of private and public professionals spanning the real estate and land use industry, including developers, investors, designers, builders, buyers, sellers, urban planners, and public officials". No revenue, seniority or wealth test is published.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | Yes | No |
| Application process | Four published steps: find a CREW chapter or affiliate near you, review the membership benefits and qualifications, apply for membership, and pay the invoice. At-large applicants apply centrally and submit demographic and location details, their Qualified Field, a description of their role, why they want to join, two professional references, a LinkedIn profile or resume, and a US$25 application fee; the outcome is notified within one week and dues are billed on approval. | Applicants create a ULI account and join online, or join by email, phone or post using a printed application with payment. Membership is open on application; ULI's published materials describe no sponsor, interview or committee review. Dues can be paid in one annual payment, on annual auto-renewal, or in twelve monthly instalments, which require a twelve-month commitment. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed as a rate. Applications are screened against the Qualified Fields definition, which determines whether an applicant becomes a full member or an affiliate or vendor member. | Not publicly disclosed; ULI publishes no acceptance rate and its published joining route is open enrolment rather than selection. Invitation-based selection applies within ULI to product councils, not to membership itself. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | $139–229 a yearAt-large membership: "you will be billed for annual membership dues at either $229 USD for the full year or $139 USD if applying between June 15 and September 30." Membership runs on a calendar year, renewable from November; dues are non-transferable and non-refundable.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $1,332 a yearFull membership, United States standard rate ($111 per month on the instalment plan). From ULI's own US individual membership application; the form states rates were valid for payments received by 30 June 2023, so the current rate may differ.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Only at-large dues are published centrally. Chapter members pay dues set by their independent chapter, which include network-level benefits; CREW supplies a template members can use to ask an employer to sponsor the cost. | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 |
| Local chapter dues | Not publicly disclosed centrally. CREW chapters "are created and incorporated as independent organizations in their state or province", set their own dues, and bill members directly; the network's site directs applicants to their local chapter rather than publishing chapter prices.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Not publicly disclosed. District council participation is included in national dues in ULI's published materials; no separate district council fee is advertised.verified September 2026 |
| Membership term | Calendar year, renewable from November for the coming year; dues non-transferable and non-refundable | 12 months, expiring on the last day of the anniversary month; annual renewal, with auto-renewal and monthly instalment options |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Chapter programming locally, plus the annual CREW Convention, the Leadership Summit, CREW Collective member-led webinars and networking at ICSC, MIPIM and NMHC events | District council events year-round plus ULI Spring Meeting and Fall Meeting; ULI cites 2,900+ events worldwide each year across in-person and online formats |
| Peer forums | CREW Councils bring members together at the global level for deals, knowledge exchange and relationship building; CREWbiz hosts an open forum and topic communities | ULI Forums and Product Councils are topic-specific member groups that meet regularly; district councils run local committees and a Young Leaders Group |
| Confidentiality | CREW publishes a Code of Conduct and forum etiquette rules governing member conduct and the online community | Not publicly disclosed as a general membership rule; ULI publishes a Code of Ethics rather than a confidentiality regime |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual | Chapter-based, Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | Yes |
| Local chapters | Yes | Yes |
| Virtual membership | Yes | No |
| Online community | Yes | Yes |
| Member directory | Yes | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Yes | Yes |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | Partial |
| Family programming | No | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | No | Not documented |
| Next-generation programming | Partial | Yes |
| Investment discussions | Partial | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | Partial | No |
| Philanthropic component | Yes | Partial |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Medium | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CREW Network · Urban Land Institute
