Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 16 material differences

Gartner C-level Communities vs Forum of Young Global Leaders

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Leadership network

Gartner C-level Communities

Enterprise C-level executives - CIOs, CISOs, CHROs, CDAOs, CFOs and CSCOs - at large organisations, plus business-unit and regional C-level leaders at companies above $500 million…

What the records say

Side by side

Gartner C-level CommunitiesForum of Young Global Leaders
Profile
Type Leadership network Leadership network
Founded Not documented 2004 (Created by World Economic Forum founder Klaus Schwab in 2004; the community marked its 20th anniversary in 2024. The YGL Foundation describes itself as a private foundation based in Switzerland but does not publish a city on its public pages.)
Headquarters Portland, United States Switzerland
Geographic footprint 101 communities worldwide across 10 countries; CIO and CISO each run 34 communities (24 North America, 7 EMEA, 2 APAC, 1 global), with smaller footprints for CHRO (13), CDAO (12), CFO (5) and CSCO (3) Members and alumni from over 120 countries; convenings held worldwide
Members 14,000as of September 2026 1,400as of September 2026
Chapters 101 No chapters; the community is organised in annual classes rather than local chapters
Primary audience Enterprise C-level executives - CIOs, CISOs, CHROs, CDAOs, CFOs and CSCOs - at large organisations, plus business-unit and regional C-level leaders at companies above $500 million in revenue Leaders under 40 drawn from business, government, civil society, academia, media, the arts and social enterprise
Typical member Members are enterprise-wide C-level executives, or business-unit and regional C-level leaders responsible for a private-sector unit above $500 million in revenue or a public-sector body with more than 1,000 employees, who report to the CEO or one level below. Gartner says 93% of the Fortune 100 are represented and 74% of members come from companies above $1 billion in revenue. Members are selected in annual classes of roughly 100-120 people under the age of 40 and include ministers, heads of state, chief executives, founders, scientists, journalists and artists. The Class of 2026 comprised 118 leaders from 55 countries.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Under 40 at the time of nominationThe Forum's published nomination criteria state the candidate must be "40 years of age or younger at the time of nomination"; the Class of 2026 was described by the Forum as 118 leaders under the age of 40.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Role or title Enterprise-wide C-level executive, or a business-unit or regional C-level leaderPublished as "Community Member Criteria" on the application pages.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Business-sector candidates must run a qualifying company or division as President, Chairman, CEO, Managing Director, Managing Partner, Publisher or equivalentFrom the Forum's YGL nomination criteria document. Where the company is a Forum member or partner, the candidate needs the approval of that company's CEO or Chairman. This document is undated on its face and references the Class of 2015, so the current wording may differ.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue Private sector: responsibility for $500M+ in revenueApplies to business-unit or regional C-level applicants.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum company revenue
Minimum employees Public sector: 1,000+ employeesverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum employees
Geographic restriction Membership is held in a regional community; communities cover North America, EMEA and APAC plus one global communityverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published geographic restriction
Invitation required Sometimes Yes
Sponsor required No Yes
Application process Apply online with corporate email, title, organisation and revenue band, and confirm reporting line to the CEO. Applications are vetted against the published Community Member Criteria. Successful applicants are contacted by a Community Program Manager, who discusses priorities and completes onboarding including access to year-round events. There is no application. Candidates are nominated by World Economic Forum members and partners; the site states plainly that nomination is not open to the general public and that unsolicited applications are not accepted. Nominees are then assessed against the Forum's criteria. The Forum's published criteria document describes shortlisted candidates being evaluated by the executive search firm Heidrick & Struggles and finally screened by a selection committee. Nominations for a given class close in the spring of the preceding year.
Selectivity No acceptance rate is published. Gartner describes membership as "By invitation only" on its homepage while also operating a public application form, and says each application is carefully vetted against established criteria. The Forum states that roughly 100 people are selected each year "from thousands of candidates worldwide"; no acceptance rate is published. The Class of 2026 numbered 118 from 55 countries.
Cost
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed. No membership price appears anywhere on the organisation's site. The commercial model is sponsor-funded: Gartner sells sponsors "unparalleled access to C-level executives at 400+ events each year".verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 The YGL Foundation publishes no fee schedule. Whether members or their employers meet programme, travel or Forum-event costs is not stated on the public site.
Programme fee Not publicly disclosed. The organisation publishes no membership price and monetises through sponsorship rather than published dues. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Membership term Not documented Three-year development programme, followed by lifetime access to the alumni community
Structure
Meeting frequency Members meet several times a year within their community: in-person executive summits, inner-circle sessions, virtual town halls and curated one-to-one peer meetings; more than 400 programmes run across all communities annually Annual class intake; academic modules, thematic gatherings and Forum convenings through the year
Peer forums Regional role-based communities led by a Governing Body of serving C-level practitioners, rather than standing small-group forums Annual classes and cohort programming rather than standing small-group forums
Confidentiality Discussions are described as peer-level and off-the-record within community programmes; no published written confidentiality code was found Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual Cohort-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Partial Partial
Local chapters Yes No
Virtual membership Yes No
Online community Yes Not documented
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats No Yes
Travel No Yes
Family programming No Not documented
Spouse and partner programming No Not documented
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions No Not documented
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Gartner C-level Communities · Forum of Young Global Leaders