Comparaison · 12 différences notables
Family Business Association vs Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center
Cette comparaison a été générée à la demande à partir des données. Elle ne comporte aucun avis éditorial et n'est pas indexée. Les comparaisons publiées sont listées sur la page de comparaison.
Lisez chaque colonne pour une organisation, chaque ligne pour les différences. Un repère bronze à gauche d'une cellule indique que les organisations diffèrent sur cette ligne. Un tiret ou « non publié » signifie que l'organisation ne divulgue pas l'information ; ce n'est pas un zéro.
Family Business Association
Owners, family members, emerging-generation members and non-family executives of Australian and New Zealand family businesses, family enterprises and family offices, plus the…
Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center
Middle-market, multigenerational family businesses and the whole family around them, including family members who do not work in the business, in-laws, and non-family executives
Ce qu'indiquent les données
- Minimum age: Family Business Association: No published minimum age; Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center: The Next Generation Leadership Institute is designed for 25 to 50 year-olds set to assume leadership positions in their family business.
- Accredited-investor status: Family Business Association: Advisor members (accountants, lawyers, financial planners and consultants) complete an accreditation course to become an FBA Accredited Advisor; Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center: No published accredited-investor status.
- Geographic restriction: Family Business Association: Australia and New Zealand; Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center: Programmes are delivered in person at Loyola's Water Tower Campus in Chicago, which effectively limits membership to the Chicago region.
- Annual dues: Family Business Association: A$695 a year; Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center: $7,500 a year.
Côte à côte
| Family Business Association | Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center | |
|---|---|---|
| Profil | ||
| Type | Family-business organization | Family-business organization |
| Fondé | 1998 (FBA dates the merger that created Family Business Australia to 1998, while tracing its origins to Family Business Services SA in 1992 and the Australian Family Business Network in 1995. It describes itself as supporting the sector for over 25 years.) | 1990 (Loyola's own news release announcing the current director states the Center was "Founded in 1990". The Center's Our Story page describes it as one of the first US communities formed to research and support family business, started by Loyola faculty and staff from the schools of business, social work and law.) |
| Siège social | Melbourne, Australia | Chicago, United States |
| Geographic footprint | Australia and New Zealand, with team representatives across Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland, Northern Territory, South Australia, Western Australia and both New Zealand islands | Chicago and the surrounding Midwest; programmes run at Loyola's Water Tower Campus at 820 N. Michigan Avenue |
| Membres | Not publicly disclosed: FBA describes "a growing community of family business members and advisor members" and says 44 industries are represented across its membership, but publishes no member figure. | Not publicly disclosed |
| Chapitres | FBA does not publish a chapter count. It lists team representation across seven Australian states and territories plus New Zealand's North and South Islands, and runs Forum Groups by region. | A single university-based centre with no chapters. |
| Primary audience | Owners, family members, emerging-generation members and non-family executives of Australian and New Zealand family businesses, family enterprises and family offices, plus the accountants, lawyers and consultants who advise them | Middle-market, multigenerational family businesses and the whole family around them, including family members who do not work in the business, in-laws, and non-family executives |
| Membre type | Members are people connected to a family business, family enterprise or family office in Australia or New Zealand, at any size and any stage: the association names start-up founders, family members in the business, the emerging generation, family business leaders, non-family executives, transitioning leaders and retired mentors as its audiences. A separate advisor membership serves accountants, lawyers, financial planners and consultants seeking FBA accreditation. | The Center describes working with middle-market, multigenerational family businesses and serving "the whole family, both inside and outside the business". Membership is bought by the family business and extends to family members regardless of whether they hold a role in the company; peer groups separately admit non-family CEOs, CHROs, CFOs and female board directors. |
| Qualification | ||
| Âge minimum | No published minimum age | The Next Generation Leadership Institute is designed for 25 to 50 year-olds set to assume leadership positions in their family businessApplies to that programme, not to membership. Enrolment is open to members and non-members.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Statut d'investisseur accrédité | Advisor members (accountants, lawyers, financial planners and consultants) complete an accreditation course to become an FBA Accredited AdvisorAdvisor dues fall from A$810 to A$635 plus GST once accreditation is complete.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published accredited-investor status |
| Restriction géographique | Australia and New ZealandFBA describes itself as the peak body for families in business across Australia and New Zealand.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Programmes are delivered in person at Loyola's Water Tower Campus in Chicago, which effectively limits membership to the Chicago regionThe Family Office peer group is mostly virtual; the Stewardship Institute is fully in person.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | No | No |
| Application process | Family businesses join online through the FBA join page by selecting Family Business Membership and adding further family members at the reduced rate; there is no published vetting. Advisors join on a separate track and then complete the accreditation course. Forum Group entry is a four-step process rather than a purchase: an expression of interest, a conversation with the Forum Group team about fit, an introduction to the proposed facilitator, then formal placement into a group of non-competing peers. | Family businesses apply for membership through the Center's membership pages and pay the annual fee, after which members take part in an annual goal-setting meeting with Center staff. Peer group placement is arranged separately by the Center, which matches participants by role and life stage and keeps relatives from the same business apart. The two institutes enrol by cohort and are open to non-members as well; the Next Generation Leadership Institute takes a $1,000 non-refundable deposit to hold a place and runs information sessions before each intake. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed for membership, which appears open at the published rates. Forum Group placement is curated: the FBA team matches participants to a group of non-competing peers and both sides confirm the fit before joining. | Not publicly disclosed: no acceptance rate or screening criteria are published, though peer group placement is curated by staff. |
| Coût | ||
| Cotisations annuelles | A$695 a yearFamily Business Membership, first family member, plus GST. Each additional member from the same family business joins for A$350 plus GST.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $7,500 a yearAnnual membership is $7,500 per family business and covers the whole family. Includes a 15% discount on Loyola's Executive and Professional Education open-enrolment courses.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Droit d'entrée | All published prices exclude GST. Card payments attract a surcharge and processing fee; EFT does not. Prices are quoted in AUD; the join page also offers an NZD toggle. | No initiation fee is published.verified September 2026 |
| Frais de programme | A$4,345 a yearIn-Person Forum Group: ten four-hour sessions a year, plus GST. Additional participants from the same family business pay A$3,695 plus GST. Requires an FBA Family Business Membership.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $3,500–5,000 a yearPeer groups: $3,500 a year for Center members, $5,000 for non-members. The Family Office group is free to members and $1,500 for non-members; CFO Roundtables are free.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Annual | Annual |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Forum Groups meet ten times a year, monthly from February to November; plus a year-round calendar of local networking events, education courses and the annual Family Business Conference: Asia-Pacific | Peer groups meet bimonthly for half-day sessions (the Family Office group quarterly); institute cohorts meet monthly or six times over 18 months; conferences, webinars and social events run through the year |
| Peer forums | Small confidential peer groups of non-competing family business peers, led by an independent facilitator, meeting ten times a year for four hours in person or three hours online. Streams include In-Person, Virtual, Women in Forum and a two-year Emerging Leaders programme. Running since 1998 on a "what's said in the room stays in the room" rule. | Eight peer groups of roughly five to twelve participants, segmented by role and stage: NowGen (family C-suite), NextGen (family members outside the C-suite), Legacy (owners retiring within five years), Family Council (family members not in daily operations), Family and Shareholder Relations / Family Office, Non-Family CEOs, Chief Human Resource Officers and Female Board Directors, plus sponsored CFO Roundtables. Most groups include two one-on-one coaching sessions a year. |
| Confidentiality | Forum Groups operate on an explicit confidentiality rule dating to the programme's founding in 1998; FBA also publishes a Member Code of Conduct. | The Center names confidentiality and non-solicitation among its founding values, states that all groups maintain strict confidentiality, and never places family members from the same business in the same group. |
| Time commitment | Forum Group participants commit to ten meetings a year, of four hours in person or three hours virtual | Peer groups: a half-day every two months. Next Generation Leadership Institute: 18 months, a two-day opening retreat plus 17 day-long cohort meetings and 15 coaching sessions. Stewardship Institute: 18 months, six meetings of a day and a half. |
| Organized as | Forum-based, Event-focused, Chapter-based, Virtual | Forum-based, Cohort-based, Event-focused |
| Forums confidentiels entre pairs | Yes | Yes |
| Sections locales | Yes | No |
| Adhésion virtuelle | Yes | Partial |
| Communauté en ligne | Partial | Partial |
| Annuaire des membres | Yes | Not documented |
| Événements | Yes | Yes |
| Programmation | ||
| Programmation éducative | Yes | Yes |
| Développement du leadership | Yes | Yes |
| Séminaires résidentiels | Partial | Yes |
| Voyage | No | No |
| Programmation familiale | Yes | Yes |
| Programmes pour conjoints et partenaires | Partial | Yes |
| Programmation pour la nouvelle génération | Yes | Yes |
| Discussions sur les investissements | No | Partial |
| Opportunités d'investissement | No | No |
| Volet philanthropique | No | No |
| Accent mis sur le réseautage | High | Medium |
| Dimension sociale | Medium | Medium |
Suivant
Sources
Tiré des sources indiquées sur chaque page: Family Business Association · Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center