Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 13 material differences

Family Enterprise USA vs Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Family-business organization

Family Enterprise USA

Owners and executives of American family-owned businesses and multi-generational employers, plus advisers and firms that serve them

Verified September 2026
Family-business organization

Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center

Middle-market, multigenerational family businesses and the whole family around them, including family members who do not work in the business, in-laws, and non-family executives

What the records say

Side by side

Family Enterprise USALoyola University Chicago Family Business Center
Profile
Type Family-business organization Family-business organization
Founded 2007 (Family Enterprise USA states it has represented family-owned enterprises "since 2007". Its sister advocacy body traces to 1995 under its former name, Policy and Taxation Group.) 1990 (Loyola's own news release announcing the current director states the Center was "Founded in 1990". The Center's Our Story page describes it as one of the first US communities formed to research and support family business, started by Loyola faculty and staff from the schools of business, social work and law.)
Headquarters Washington, United States Chicago, United States
Geographic footprint United States, with advocacy centred on Washington DC and a programme of regional events around the country Chicago and the surrounding Midwest; programmes run at Loyola's Water Tower Campus at 820 N. Michigan Avenue
Members Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Chapters Family Enterprise USA has no chapters. Its membership page refers to regional events (it cites more than 20 regional gatherings) rather than standing local branches. A single university-based centre with no chapters.
Primary audience Owners and executives of American family-owned businesses and multi-generational employers, plus advisers and firms that serve them Middle-market, multigenerational family businesses and the whole family around them, including family members who do not work in the business, in-laws, and non-family executives
Typical member Members are family-owned businesses "of all sizes, professions, and industries" and multi-generational employers, alongside associate members that are not themselves family businesses: typically advisory firms, banks and service providers. Higher tiers are aimed at families willing to travel to Washington and meet legislators directly. The Center describes working with middle-market, multigenerational family businesses and serving "the whole family, both inside and outside the business". Membership is bought by the family business and extends to family members regardless of whether they hold a role in the company; peer groups separately admit non-family CEOs, CHROs, CFOs and female board directors.
Qualification
Minimum age No published minimum age The Next Generation Leadership Institute is designed for 25 to 50 year-olds set to assume leadership positions in their family businessApplies to that programme, not to membership. Enrolment is open to members and non-members.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction United States focus; advocacy is directed at the US Congressverified September 2026 · source ↗ Programmes are delivered in person at Loyola's Water Tower Campus in Chicago, which effectively limits membership to the Chicago regionThe Family Office peer group is mostly virtual; the Stewardship Institute is fully in person.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Prospective members choose one of the four published tiers on the membership page and join at that price; there is no published vetting, sponsorship or committee review. The organisation also solicits event sponsorships separately from membership. Family businesses apply for membership through the Center's membership pages and pay the annual fee, after which members take part in an annual goal-setting meeting with Center staff. Peer group placement is arranged separately by the Center, which matches participants by role and life stage and keeps relatives from the same business apart. The two institutes enrol by cohort and are open to non-members as well; the Next Generation Leadership Institute takes a $1,000 non-refundable deposit to hold a place and runs information sessions before each intake.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed: no acceptance criteria or rejection process is described; membership appears open at the published price points. Not publicly disclosed: no acceptance rate or screening criteria are published, though peer group placement is curated by staff.
Cost
Annual dues $1,000 a yearNon Family Business / Associate Member tier: email updates and quarterly webcast.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $7,500 a yearAnnual membership is $7,500 per family business and covers the whole family. Includes a 15% discount on Loyola's Executive and Professional Education open-enrolment courses.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee No initiation fee is published.verified September 2026 No initiation fee is published.verified September 2026
Programme fee Four published annual tiers ranging from $1,000 to $10,000. Sponsorship packages are offered separately; amounts are not published on the membership page. $3,500–5,000 a yearPeer groups: $3,500 a year for Center members, $5,000 for non-members. The Family Office group is free to members and $1,500 for non-members; CFO Roundtables are free.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Annual Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Quarterly webcast for all members; annual Day on Capitol Hill; annual DC meeting for higher tiers; regional events through the year Peer groups meet bimonthly for half-day sessions (the Family Office group quarterly); institute cohorts meet monthly or six times over 18 months; conferences, webinars and social events run through the year
Peer forums No peer forums; the organisation is built around advocacy events and policy briefings Eight peer groups of roughly five to twelve participants, segmented by role and stage: NowGen (family C-suite), NextGen (family members outside the C-suite), Legacy (owners retiring within five years), Family Council (family members not in daily operations), Family and Shareholder Relations / Family Office, Non-Family CEOs, Chief Human Resource Officers and Female Board Directors, plus sponsored CFO Roundtables. Most groups include two one-on-one coaching sessions a year.
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed The Center names confidentiality and non-solicitation among its founding values, states that all groups maintain strict confidentiality, and never places family members from the same business in the same group.
Time commitment Not documented Peer groups: a half-day every two months. Next Generation Leadership Institute: 18 months, a two-day opening retreat plus 17 day-long cohort meetings and 15 coaching sessions. Stewardship Institute: 18 months, six meetings of a day and a half.
Organized as Event-focused, Virtual Forum-based, Cohort-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No Yes
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership Yes Partial
Online community Partial Partial
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development No Yes
Retreats No Yes
Travel No No
Family programming Partial Yes
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Yes
Next-generation programming Not documented Yes
Investment discussions No Partial
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis Medium Medium
Social emphasis Low Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Family Enterprise USA · Loyola University Chicago Family Business Center