Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 17 material differences

Financial Executives International vs NVCA

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

Financial Executives International

Senior corporate finance executives - CFOs, chief accounting officers, controllers, treasurers, tax executives and audit committee members

Verified September 2026
Professional association

NVCA

Firms that invest venture-stage risk equity capital in the United States, plus the service providers who work with them

What the records say

Side by side

Financial Executives InternationalNVCA
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1931 (Founded as the Controllers Institute of America in 1931; renamed Financial Executives Institute in 1962 and Financial Executives International in 2000.) 1973 (Founding year of 1973 is reported by secondary reference sources; NVCA's own site does not state it on the pages checked)
Headquarters Morristown, United States Washington, United States
Geographic footprint United States: 56 local chapters listed on FEI's own chapter index, from Hawaii to Long Island United States, with offices in Washington DC and San Francisco
Members 10,000as of September 2026 Could not be independently verified: NVCA publishes a full member directory but no headline count; secondary sources cite figures between 400 and 460 member firms without a clear date
Chapters 56 Not publicly disclosed: NVCA has no chapter structure; it operates from two offices
Primary audience Senior corporate finance executives - CFOs, chief accounting officers, controllers, treasurers, tax executives and audit committee members Firms that invest venture-stage risk equity capital in the United States, plus the service providers who work with them
Typical member Members hold policy-making finance roles at companies across every major industry, from Fortune 500 businesses to mid-sized enterprises. Eligibility requires both a qualifying title and a company that clears a size test. Member organizations are venture partnerships, corporate venture groups, family offices, funds of funds and university or accelerator programmes that invest risk equity capital in the US. Membership is held by the firm rather than the individual.
Qualification
Role or title Qualifying title: CFO, chief accounting officer, controller, treasurer, VP of finance, tax, risk management or planning and analysis, a director in those functions, or audit committee memberFEI describes membership as "exclusive to senior-level financial executives".verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published role or title
Minimum company revenue Company must have at least $10 million in annual revenues (or meet an alternative size test)Alternative tests are $2 million in net worth or $6 million in capital (combined net worth and long-term debt).verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum company revenue
Minimum employees No published minimum employees At least one full-time employee (or full-time equivalent) dedicated to private equity investingverified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum net worth Alternative company test: $2 million in net worthThis is a company balance-sheet test, not a personal net-worth test.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published minimum net worth
Geographic restriction United States; members within 75 miles of a chapter must join that chapterverified September 2026 · source ↗ Must be investing or planning to invest risk equity capital in the United StatesOpen to non-US firms that invest into the USverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Candidates complete an online membership application on the FEI site, which checks the qualifying title and company size test and presents chapter options and rates. Chapter membership is required for those within 75 miles of a chapter. No sponsor or nomination is needed. A firm submits an application form at nvca.org/nvca-application-form/ or contacts the membership team. Eligibility is checked against the risk-capital and staffing tests, and dues are set from the firm's committed capital band. There is no published interview or sponsorship step.
Selectivity No acceptance rate is published. Selectivity operates through the published title and company-size tests and the exclusion of service providers and start-ups. Not publicly disclosed: NVCA states eligibility criteria but does not publish acceptance or rejection data
Cost
Annual dues $399–499 a year"FEI membership dues are $399 for first year and $499 for subsequent years for all categories of membership" per the FEI Kansas City chapter. Other FEI chapter sites quote $309 a year for national dues, so the published figure varies by page.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $500–35,000 a yearStandard VC fund category, banded by committed capital across funds closed in the past ten years: $500 at $5M; $1,000 for $5M–$9.9M; $2,000–$6,000 for $10M–$99.9M (plus $500 per additional $10M); $10,000–$17,500 for $100M–$499.9M (plus $2,500 per additional $100M); $22,500–$32,500 for $500M–$999.9M; $35,000 and above for $1B+ (plus $5,000 per additional $500M)verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee separate from first-year dues is published.verified September 2026 Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues $75–468 a yearChapter dues are additional and vary by location: FEI Boston publishes $75 a year, FEI Northeast Ohio waives local dues in the first year, and FEI Sacramento lists $468 a year for executive, academic, in-transition and government/military categories, $399 for entrepreneur and $349 for retired. The Sacramento figures may be all-in rather than chapter-only.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Dues are firm-level and set from committed capital in funds closed over the previous ten years.
Membership term Annual Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Local chapter meetings through the year plus national conferences, webinars and CPE-bearing courses National events through the year, including the Strategic Operations and Policy Summit and the Leadership Awards Dinner; advisory committees meet separately
Peer forums No standing facilitated peer forum. FEI operates chapters, technical committees and special-interest programming rather than closed advisory groups No peer-forum structure; members organise through advisory committees and policy working groups
Confidentiality No published forum confidentiality rule; FEI is a professional association with open programming and a member code of conduct Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums Partial No
Local chapters Yes No
Virtual membership Partial No
Online community Partial Partial
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Partial
Leadership development Yes Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions No Partial
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Partial No
Networking emphasis High Medium
Social emphasis Low Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Financial Executives International · NVCA