Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 13 material differences

Harvard Club of Boston vs Ned's Club

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

Ned's Club

The club describes itself as "a place for diverse professionals to meet, work and have a good time"

What the records say

Side by side

Harvard Club of BostonNed's Club
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 1908 (The club's timeline records that 22 alumni men started the Harvard Club of Boston in 1908 with annual dues set at $5.) 2017 (The Ned London opened in 2017 in the former Midland Bank headquarters on Poultry in the City of London; the club within it trades as Ned's Club)
Headquarters Boston, United States London, United Kingdom
Geographic footprint Back Bay clubhouse at 374 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston; the club's current site lists no other location Clubs at The Ned London (City of London), The Ned NoMad in New York, The Ned Doha, and Ned's Club Washington DC; membership gives access to all Ned's Clubs globally
Members Not publicly disclosed by the club. Wikipedia gives approximately 5,000 members across 40 countries; that has not been independently verified and carries no date. Not publicly disclosed
Chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters. Members have reciprocal access to more than 170 private clubs worldwide. 4
Primary audience The club states its mission is to be "the social, intellectual, and athletic hub for Harvard alumni and our affiliated community in the Greater Boston area", and its published eligibility extends to alumni of Harvard, MIT, Yale and the Fletcher School at Tufts, faculty and students of Harvard and MIT, medical residents and fellows at Harvard-affiliated hospitals, and the direct relatives of member The club describes itself as "a place for diverse professionals to meet, work and have a good time"
Typical member Alumni, students, faculty, parents and affiliates of Harvard and MIT, plus Yale and Tufts Fletcher School alumni, together with a limited number of Commonwealth members admitted as friends and family of existing members. Fees are banded by age and by distance from the clubhouse. Professionals working in and around the City of London and, in Washington, a membership reported to skew towards politics, business and law. The club publishes no occupational or income test.
Qualification
Geographic restriction Fees are set by the ZIP codes where an applicant lives and works: Resident 1 within 15 miles, Resident 2 within 16 to 50 miles, Nonresident 51 or more miles within the United States, and International outside the United StatesFees are also banded by ageverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published geographic restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required Sometimes Sometimes
Application process Applicants review the eligibility categories and the published dues schedule, then select their affiliation and complete an online application form. The club verifies the applicant's university affiliation directly with the institution and a member of the team follows up to finalise details. The club's Become a Member page asks applicants to allow two to three weeks for review, while its membership FAQ says a membership is activated within 10 to 15 business days; new members then receive membership numbers and an electronic welcome package. Commonwealth applicants complete a separate application and need a member sponsor. Applicants choose between Ned's Club membership and the lower Ned Friends tier and apply through the online form on The Ned's website. Reporting on the Washington club describes a referral from an existing member followed by membership-committee review, with renewals also reviewed annually. No timescale or acceptance rate is published.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed as an acceptance rate. Eligibility is defined by university affiliation; the only published numerical limit is the 50 Commonwealth places reserved each year. Not publicly disclosed. A club spokesperson told WTOP that the operator is "extremely intentional" about who it admits.
Cost
Annual dues Figures come from the club's own dues schedule PDF headed "Harvard Club of Boston Annual Dues, Effective September 1, 2026", which lists an initiation fee and a monthly cost of membership for each category. Commonwealth members pay the same schedule as the equivalent Resident, Nonresident or International band. Founders' tier at Ned's Club Washington DC, reported at $125,000 to join and $25,000 a year, including concierge access at the London, New York and Doha clubsverified September 2026 · source ↗
Monthly dues $60–426 a monthPublished monthly cost of membership effective 1 September 2026. Resident 1: $135 (25 and under), $154 (26-30), $250 (31-35), $372 (36-40), $426 (41-74), $295 (75+), $385 (HCB plus HCNYC 41-74). Resident 2: $127 / $143 / $206 / $287 / $327 / $262 / $298. Nonresident: $113 / $127 / $159 / $190 / $218, $182 for HCB plus HCNYC. International: $60 / $79 / $94 / $114 / $133. Undergraduate students $85, graduate students $95, Harvard College faculty $125. The facilities renewal assessment is built into these figuresverified September 2026 · source ↗ London rates are not publicly disclosed. The only sourced figures are for the Washington DC club and come from press reporting, not the club.
Initiation fee $305–4,327 one-timePublished schedule effective 1 September 2026, banded by residence and age. Resident 1 (within 15 miles): $964 for 25 and under, $1,183 for 26-30, $2,280 for 31-35, $3,684 for 36-40, $4,327 for 41-74, $2,763 for 75+, $3,843 for a combined HCB and Harvard Club of New York membership aged 41-74. Resident 2 (16-50 miles): $862 / $1,053 / $1,754 / $2,661 / $3,143 / $2,369 / $2,801 on the same bands. Nonresident (51+ miles, USA): $761 / $920 / $1,242 / $1,622 / $1,958, with $1,520 for HCB plus HCNYC aged 41 and over. International: $305 / $532 / $773 / $1,012 / $1,239. Students $660; Harvard College faculty $960verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed for Ned's Club Londonverified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Ongoing; dues may be paid monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or annually Annual, renewed subject to committee review per reporting on the DC club
Structure
Meeting frequency More than 250 member events a year, virtual and in person, from wine dinners to faculty discussions and holiday events Daily access to club spaces; a calendar of member events including talks, workshops, live music and rooftop events
Peer forums Member-led Shared Interest Groups (SIGs), plus a Golf Society giving access to regional country clubs and a squash programme with leagues and clinics Not documented
Confidentiality The club describes itself as an electronic-device-friendly clubhouse and asks only that members not take phone calls in the restaurant; sound-proof phone booths are provided in the Member Commons. Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership No No
Online community Partial Not documented
Member directory Yes Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Partial
Leadership development No No
Retreats No No
Travel Yes Yes
Family programming Yes No
Spouse and partner programming Yes Not documented
Next-generation programming Yes No
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Partial No
Networking emphasis High Medium
Social emphasis High High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Harvard Club of Boston · Ned's Club