Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 10 material differences

Harvard Club of New York City vs The Rainier Club

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

Harvard Club of New York City

Harvard University and Radcliffe College degree recipients, current and former faculty, fellows, officers and University appointment holders of at least one full academic year…

Verified September 2026
Private club

The Rainier Club

The club describes its members as founders, freelancers, entrepreneurs and executives, and markets separate tiers to residents of the Seattle area, to people under 40, and to…

What the records say

Side by side

Harvard Club of New York CityThe Rainier Club
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 1865 (Founded in 1865 by a small group of alumni; the first meeting was held at the Mercantile Library Building on Astor Place and four members attended. A constitution was adopted in 1878 and the club was incorporated in New York State in 1887.) 1888 (The club describes itself as "a storied social club since 1888" and as Seattle's oldest private social club. Secondary accounts date the founding meeting to 25 July 1888, following a proposal on 23 February 1888.)
Headquarters New York, United States Seattle, United States
Geographic footprint Single clubhouse on West 44th Street, Manhattan, with entrances at 27 and 35 West 44th Street; members are drawn worldwide and dues categories reflect distance from the club Single clubhouse at 820 4th Avenue in downtown Seattle
Members Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters
Primary audience Harvard University and Radcliffe College degree recipients, current and former faculty, fellows, officers and University appointment holders of at least one full academic year, current and former University-wide board and committee members, and former full-time students in good standing in a Harvard degree programme for at least one full academic year. The club describes its members as founders, freelancers, entrepreneurs and executives, and markets separate tiers to residents of the Seattle area, to people under 40, and to non-residents living and working more than 50 miles from the club.
Typical member Members are Harvard-affiliated by degree, faculty appointment or University service, plus spouses and life partners admitted in reduced-rate categories. Dues bands are set by years since undergraduate degree and by whether the member lives or works in New York City, the tri-state area, the eastern states, or further afield. Members are Seattle-area business, professional and civic people, with a distinct under-40 tier and a non-resident tier. The club publishes no membership total or occupational breakdown.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Under 40 Membership is for members aged 18 to 39A separate resident tier applies from age 40verified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum age No published minimum age Resident Membership is for members aged 40 and overMembers aged 18 to 39 join the Under 40 tier at a lower rateverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction Dues category is set by home and professional address: Resident/Professional (the five boroughs), Tri-State, Non-Resident East, and Non-Resident West and InternationalWhichever address is closest to the club determines the categoryverified September 2026 · source ↗ Non-Resident Membership requires living and working outside a 50-mile radius of the clubNon-resident members receive a complimentary Palmer Advantage golf and travel membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No Not documented
Application process Applicants apply online in the category matching their Harvard affiliation. The club verifies the affiliation and contacts the applicant with membership information in about three weeks. There is no published requirement for proposers or seconders. A separate route exists for the graduating class of the year and for Harvard summer students. Prospective members schedule a clubhouse tour through the club's website or membership office and are then quoted the published tier rate for their age and location. The club does not publish a sponsorship, proposal or ballot requirement, nor a review committee.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Admission turns on verifying a qualifying Harvard affiliation rather than on a published selection or ballot. Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes prices and tiers but no acceptance criteria, waiting list or approval process.
Cost
Annual dues $573–2,864 a yearResident/Professional category (residence, business or employment in the five boroughs of New York City), banded by years since undergraduate degree: under 4 years $573; 4 to under 6 $859; 6 to under 8 $1,289; 8 to under 10 $1,910; 10 or more $2,864. Excludes taxes.verified September 2026 · source ↗ All three tiers publish both an initiation fee and dues. Resident and Under 40 dues are billed monthly; non-resident dues are billed quarterly.
Monthly dues Dues are annual and exclude taxes; the club states there is no food and beverage minimum spend. Initial dues are prorated to the fiscal year ending 30 June and thereafter may be paid quarterly, half-yearly or annually. $575 a monthResident Membership, age 40 and oververified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee $250–2,864 one-timeEntrance fee applies to all membership categories and equals 100% of a full year of dues, subject to a $250 minimum. Payable in full or in three instalments over two years, the first due on membership activation. No entrance fee applies to Signing Privilege Membership or to widows'/widowers' privileges.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $4,000 one-timeResident Membership, age 40 and over. No-APR financing of the initiation fee is available for up to one year under contract, with conditions.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Annual, on a fiscal year ending 30 June; dues payable quarterly, half-yearly or annually Monthly dues for resident and under-40 members; quarterly dues for non-resident members
Structure
Meeting frequency Clubhouse open daily, closing to members at 11pm; talks, performances, art classes, wine tastings and other member programming through the year More than 400 member and signature events a year; clubhouse and gym accessible 24 hours
Peer forums Not documented Not documented
Confidentiality The club maintains House Rules governing technology use in the clubhouse; specific terms are not published in full Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership No No
Online community No No
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Partial
Leadership development No Partial
Retreats No No
Travel Yes Yes
Family programming Not documented Not documented
Spouse and partner programming Yes Yes
Next-generation programming Partial Yes
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Yes Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Harvard Club of New York City · The Rainier Club