Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Private club · Members' clubs · Business clubs

Harvard Club of New York City

The Harvard Club of New York City (HCNY)

Harvard University and Radcliffe College degree recipients, current and former faculty, fellows, officers and University appointment holders of at least one full academic year, current and former University-wide board and committee members, and former full-time students in good standing in a Harvard degree programme for at least one full academic year.

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1865
HeadquartersNew York, United States
MembersNot publicly disclosed
ChaptersSingle clubhouse; no chapters
FootprintSingle clubhouse on West 44th Street, Manhattan, with entrances at 27 and 35 West 44th Street; members are drawn worldwide and dues categories reflect distance from the club
InvitationNot required

Founding — Founded in 1865 by a small group of alumni; the first meeting was held at the Mercantile Library Building on Astor Place and four members attended. A constitution was adopted in 1878 and the club was incorporated in New York State in 1887.

The Harvard Club of New York City is an alumni club founded in 1865 and housed since 1894 in a neo-Georgian building on West 44th Street designed by Charles Follen McKim of McKim, Mead & White, extended in 1905, 1915 and 2003. Eligibility is tied to a Harvard affiliation: degree recipients including honorary degrees, current or former faculty, fellows, officers and University appointment holders of at least one full academic year, current or former University-wide board and committee members, and former full-time students who spent at least one full academic year in good standing in a Harvard degree programme. Holders of certificates from Harvard programmes who meet none of those tests are explicitly ineligible. Unusually for a club of this age, the full dues schedule is published: annual dues run from $172 to $2,864 depending on category, and the entrance fee equals one full year of dues subject to a $250 minimum. The clubhouse has four dining venues, guest rooms, work and meeting rooms, a library, and a fitness centre and squash facility available for an extra fee.

How it works

Membership is single-clubhouse. Applicants apply online, their Harvard affiliation is verified, and they are contacted with membership details in roughly three weeks. Dues are billed for the fiscal year ending 30 June, prorated at the start and thereafter payable quarterly, half-yearly or annually; the entrance fee may be paid in full or in three instalments over two years. Members may bring guests and may issue guest passes allowing a non-member to use the club twice a year. Athletic membership is a separate application and fee. The club maintains a reciprocal network of private clubs worldwide, from the Oxford and Cambridge Club and Royal Automobile Club in London to the Union League Club of Chicago, the American Club Hong Kong and the Country Club Johannesburg; reciprocal visitors are admitted on a letter of introduction.

Typical member

Members are Harvard-affiliated by degree, faculty appointment or University service, plus spouses and life partners admitted in reduced-rate categories. Dues bands are set by years since undergraduate degree and by whether the member lives or works in New York City, the tri-state area, the eastern states, or further afield.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Other criterion A qualifying Harvard affiliation: a Harvard University or Radcliffe College degree (including honorary degrees); current or former faculty, fellow, officer or University appointment holder of at least one full academic year; current or former University-wide board or committee member; or former full Recipients of certificates from Harvard programmes who meet none of these tests are not eligible Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Spouses and life partners of members may join under Spousal Membership (Harvard-affiliated) or Signing Privilege Membership (not Harvard-affiliated) at 50% of the member's dues Signing Privilege Membership carries no entrance fee; Spousal Membership does Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Geographic restriction Dues category is set by home and professional address: Resident/Professional (the five boroughs), Tri-State, Non-Resident East, and Non-Resident West and International Whichever address is closest to the club determines the category Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Applicants apply online in the category matching their Harvard affiliation. The club verifies the affiliation and contacts the applicant with membership information in about three weeks. There is no published requirement for proposers or seconders. A separate route exists for the graduating class of the year and for Harvard summer students.
Sponsor required
No
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed. Admission turns on verifying a qualifying Harvard affiliation rather than on a published selection or ballot.
Membership term
Annual, on a fiscal year ending 30 June; dues payable quarterly, half-yearly or annually

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to Harvard Club of New York City. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual duesa year $1,718$5,156 Resident/Professional category (residence, business or employment in the five boroughs of New York City), banded by years since undergraduate degree: under 4 years $573; 4 to under 6 $859; 6 to under 8 $1,289; 8 to under 10 $1,910; 10 or more $2,864. Excludes taxes. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $1,148alternative tier, not added Tri-State category (all of New Jersey and Connecticut and seven New York counties): under 4 years $387; 4 to under 6 $573; 6 to under 8 $859; 8 to under 10 $1,289; 10 or more $1,910 Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $774alternative tier, not added Non-Resident East category: under 4 years $258; 4 to under 6 $387; 6 to under 8 $573; 8 to under 10 $859; 10 or more $1,289 Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $516alternative tier, not added Non-Resident West and International category: under 4 years $172; 4 to under 6 $258; 6 to under 8 $387; 8 to under 10 $573; 10 or more $859 Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $372alternative tier, not added Faculty category for current Harvard faculty of at least one academic year: $172 up to six years since undergraduate degree, rising to $573 at ten or more years Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Initiation feeonce $1,557$1,557 Entrance fee applies to all membership categories and equals 100% of a full year of dues, subject to a $250 minimum. Payable in full or in three instalments over two years, the first due on membership activation. No entrance fee applies to Signing Privilege Membership or to widows'/widowers' privileges. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other costonce $250$250 Reinstatement fee for resigned members returning: 25% of current membership dues or a minimum of $250, for members who resigned on or after 1 July 2020. Members who resigned more than ten years earlier go through the full admissions process including the entrance fee. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other cost Athletics membership covering the fitness centre and squash is a separate application at an additional fee; the amount is not published Source ↗
Estimated total, disclosed figures only$3,526$6,962 Not counted: Annual dues (4 alternative tiers, not added), Other cost.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Clubhouse open daily, closing to members at 11pm; talks, performances, art classes, wine tastings and other member programming through the year
Peer forums
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Confidentiality
The club maintains House Rules governing technology use in the clubhouse; specific terms are not published in full
Time commitment
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Membership club premises, event focused
Countries
United States
Structure
Confidential peer forumsNo
Local chaptersNo
Virtual membershipNo
Online communityNo
Member directoryNot documented
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentNo
RetreatsNo
TravelYes
Family
Family programmingNot documented
Spouse and partner programmingYes
Next-generation programmingPartial
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsNo
Investment opportunitiesNo
Philanthropic componentYes
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisHigh

Independent context

The published dues table is the most useful thing about this club for anyone comparing city clubs, and it shows how alumni clubs price: a recent graduate living outside the north-east pays $172 a year, while a New York resident more than ten years out pays $2,864, with an entrance fee equal to one year's dues on top. That is an order of magnitude below the fees reported at unaffiliated city clubs. The trade-off is that eligibility is closed -- there is no route in without a Harvard degree, appointment or University service, and Harvard certificate programmes do not qualify, a point the club states explicitly because it is asked often. Fitness and squash are a separate paid membership, so the headline dues understate the cost for members who want the athletic facilities. Membership size is not published.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneClub founded by Harvard alumni; first meeting at the Mercantile Library Building on Astor Place with four members attending ↗
  2. milestoneConstitution adopted ↗
  3. milestoneClub incorporated in New York State and took a lease on a brownstone at 11 West 22nd Street as its first clubhouse ↗
  4. milestoneWith 600 members, two lots were bought on West 44th Street and Charles F. McKim of McKim, Mead & White commissioned for a permanent clubhouse ↗
  5. milestoneFirst clubhouse addition, Harvard Hall and above, opened ↗
  6. milestoneSecond addition opened, adding the main dining room ↗
  7. milestoneLadies Annex opened to spouses of members and Radcliffe alumnae ↗
  8. milestoneHCNY Foundation organised to fund scholarships and educational work ↗
  9. milestoneClubhouse designated a New York City landmark ↗
  10. milestoneFirst woman elected to membership, Heidi Nitze; Wikipedia records a members' vote of 2,097 to 695 on 11 January 1973 ↗
  11. milestoneThird clubhouse addition at 35 West 44th Street by Davis Brody Bond ↗
  12. milestoneNicole Parent became the club's first woman president ↗
  13. milestoneThe Rooftop dining venue opened ↗
  14. milestoneClub marked its 150th anniversary ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. Harvard Club of New York, Harvard Club of New York City. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. History - Harvard Club of New York, Harvard Club of New York City. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Reciprocal Clubs - Harvard Club of New York, Harvard Club of New York City. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. Membership - Harvard Club of New York, Harvard Club of New York City. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  5. FAQ - Harvard Club of New York, Harvard Club of New York City. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  6. Harvard Club of New York, Wikipedia. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent Harvard Club of New York City? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile