Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 8 material differences

Harvard Club of New York City vs The Yale Club of New York City

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

Harvard Club of New York City

Harvard University and Radcliffe College degree recipients, current and former faculty, fellows, officers and University appointment holders of at least one full academic year…

Verified September 2026
Private club

The Yale Club of New York City

People who have received a degree from Yale University, full-time graduate students completing a Yale degree-granting programme, and full-time professors; the club also houses…

What the records say

Side by side

Harvard Club of New York CityThe Yale Club of New York City
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 1865 (Founded in 1865 by a small group of alumni; the first meeting was held at the Mercantile Library Building on Astor Place and four members attended. A constitution was adopted in 1878 and the club was incorporated in New York State in 1887.) 1897 (Founded in 1897 by the Old Yale Alumni Association of New York; the club uses the line "Building Lasting Friendships Since 1897".)
Headquarters New York, United States New York, United States
Geographic footprint Single clubhouse on West 44th Street, Manhattan, with entrances at 27 and 35 West 44th Street; members are drawn worldwide and dues categories reflect distance from the club Single clubhouse at 50 Vanderbilt Avenue, Manhattan; members are drawn worldwide
Members Not publicly disclosed 13,000as of September 2026
Chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters Single clubhouse; the Dartmouth, Virginia and DKE clubs are affiliates sharing the same building rather than chapters
Primary audience Harvard University and Radcliffe College degree recipients, current and former faculty, fellows, officers and University appointment holders of at least one full academic year, current and former University-wide board and committee members, and former full-time students in good standing in a Harvard degree programme for at least one full academic year. People who have received a degree from Yale University, full-time graduate students completing a Yale degree-granting programme, and full-time professors; the club also houses affiliate clubs for Dartmouth and University of Virginia alumni and Delta Kappa Epsilon members.
Typical member Members are Harvard-affiliated by degree, faculty appointment or University service, plus spouses and life partners admitted in reduced-rate categories. Dues bands are set by years since undergraduate degree and by whether the member lives or works in New York City, the tri-state area, the eastern states, or further afield. Members are Yale degree holders, current full-time Yale graduate students, Yale undergraduates and faculty, plus spouses and domestic partners. The club says its membership "continues to evolve and reflect Yale's student body values". No occupational or wealth profile is published.
Qualification
Geographic restriction Dues category is set by home and professional address: Resident/Professional (the five boroughs), Tri-State, Non-Resident East, and Non-Resident West and InternationalWhichever address is closest to the club determines the categoryverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published geographic restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants apply online in the category matching their Harvard affiliation. The club verifies the affiliation and contacts the applicant with membership information in about three weeks. There is no published requirement for proposers or seconders. A separate route exists for the graduating class of the year and for Harvard summer students. Applicants apply online in one of the club's categories (Yale alumni, full-time graduate students, Yale undergraduates, Yale faculty, spouse or domestic partner, undergraduate summer membership, or affiliate). The application is reviewed, and on approval the applicant is sent a payment link for the initiation fee and first month's dues. Once payment is processed and final approval given, the account is usually active within one to two weeks. No proposer or seconder is mentioned.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Admission turns on verifying a qualifying Harvard affiliation rather than on a published selection or ballot. Not publicly disclosed. Admission turns on verifying a Yale affiliation; the club publishes no acceptance rate or waiting list.
Cost
Annual dues $573–2,864 a yearResident/Professional category (residence, business or employment in the five boroughs of New York City), banded by years since undergraduate degree: under 4 years $573; 4 to under 6 $859; 6 to under 8 $1,289; 8 to under 10 $1,910; 10 or more $2,864. Excludes taxes.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. The club uses a dues calculator that requires the applicant's name, Yale degree type, undergraduate class year and email before quoting a rate; dues are billed monthly at the start of membership.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee $250–2,864 one-timeEntrance fee applies to all membership categories and equals 100% of a full year of dues, subject to a $250 minimum. Payable in full or in three instalments over two years, the first due on membership activation. No entrance fee applies to Signing Privilege Membership or to widows'/widowers' privileges.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosed. The club confirms an initiation fee exists -- approved applicants receive a payment link for the initiation fee and first month's dues -- but does not publish the amount.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Annual, on a fiscal year ending 30 June; dues payable quarterly, half-yearly or annually Monthly dues billing following an initiation fee and first month's dues at activation
Structure
Meeting frequency Clubhouse open daily, closing to members at 11pm; talks, performances, art classes, wine tastings and other member programming through the year Clubhouse open for dining, athletics, meetings and events; weekday tours for prospective members from 10am to 4:30pm
Peer forums Not documented Not documented
Confidentiality The club maintains House Rules governing technology use in the clubhouse; specific terms are not published in full Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership No No
Online community No No
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Partial
Leadership development No No
Retreats No No
Travel Yes Not documented
Family programming Not documented Not documented
Spouse and partner programming Yes Yes
Next-generation programming Partial Yes
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Yes Not documented
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Harvard Club of New York City · The Yale Club of New York City