Comparison · 18 material differences
Home Grown vs The Rainier Club
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Home Grown
Entrepreneurs, investors and business leaders: the club was launched as a "working club" for funded, growth-stage entrepreneurs and described itself as a place giving…
The Rainier Club
The club describes its members as founders, freelancers, entrepreneurs and executives, and markets separate tiers to residents of the Seattle area, to people under 40, and to…
What the records say
- Maximum age at joining: Home Grown: No published maximum age at joining; The Rainier Club: Under 40 Membership is for members aged 18 to 39.
- Minimum age: Home Grown: No published minimum age; The Rainier Club: Resident Membership is for members aged 40 and over.
- Geographic restriction: Home Grown: No published geographic restriction; The Rainier Club: Non-Resident Membership requires living and working outside a 50-mile radius of the club.
- Annual dues: Home Grown: £600–3,000 a year; The Rainier Club: All three tiers publish both an initiation fee and dues. Resident and Under 40 dues are billed monthly; non-resident dues are billed quarterly..
Side by side
| Home Grown | The Rainier Club | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Private club | Private club |
| Founded | 2019 (Opened on 3 April 2019 as Home Grown, the sister club to Home House, launched by Home House managing director Andrew Richardson) | 1888 (The club describes itself as "a storied social club since 1888" and as Seattle's oldest private social club. Secondary accounts date the founding meeting to 25 July 1888, following a proposal on 23 February 1888.) |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom | Seattle, United States |
| Geographic footprint | One clubhouse at 44 Great Cumberland Place, Marylebone, London W1H 7BS, in four Grade II-listed Georgian townhouses | Single clubhouse at 820 4th Avenue in downtown Seattle |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed. A 2021 promotional page cited a community of more than 4,500 professionals; at launch the club said it was aiming for about 2,500 members. Neither is a current figure. | Not publicly disclosed |
| Chapters | 1 | Single clubhouse; no chapters |
| Primary audience | Entrepreneurs, investors and business leaders: the club was launched as a "working club" for funded, growth-stage entrepreneurs and described itself as a place giving "entrepreneurial pioneers" resources to build their businesses | The club describes its members as founders, freelancers, entrepreneurs and executives, and markets separate tiers to residents of the Seattle area, to people under 40, and to non-residents living and working more than 50 miles from the club. |
| Typical member | Founder-led businesses, investors and professional-service providers. At launch the club said it was targeting a mix of roughly 70 per cent entrepreneurs, 20 per cent investors and 10 per cent service providers. | Members are Seattle-area business, professional and civic people, with a distinct under-40 tier and a non-resident tier. The club publishes no membership total or occupational breakdown. |
| Qualification | ||
| Maximum age at joining | No published maximum age at joining | Under 40 Membership is for members aged 18 to 39A separate resident tier applies from age 40verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Minimum age | No published minimum age | Resident Membership is for members aged 40 and overMembers aged 18 to 39 join the Under 40 tier at a lower rateverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Geographic restriction | No published geographic restriction | Non-Resident Membership requires living and working outside a 50-mile radius of the clubNon-resident members receive a complimentary Palmer Advantage golf and travel membershipverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | No | Not documented |
| Application process | Applications are made online through the Home House site. For the Home House Collection generally, Spear's reports that applicants submit a recent headshot, photo ID, proof of address and, for international applicants, proof of residency, and that the membership committee reviews applications monthly. | Prospective members schedule a clubhouse tour through the club's website or membership office and are then quoted the published tier rate for their age and location. The club does not publish a sponsorship, proposal or ballot requirement, nor a review committee. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes prices and tiers but no acceptance criteria, waiting list or approval process. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | £600–3,000 a yearCurrent pricing under the Home House Studio name: "membership starting from £600 per year (Limited Access) or £3,000 per year (Full Access)"verified September 2026 · source ↗ | All three tiers publish both an initiation fee and dues. Resident and Under 40 dues are billed monthly; non-resident dues are billed quarterly. |
| Monthly dues | Current rates are published under the Home House Studio name. The Affiliate, Portfolio and joining-fee figures predate the February 2026 rebrand and should be treated as superseded. | $575 a monthResident Membership, age 40 and oververified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Historic Home Grown joining fee of £299, waived under a 2021 promotional offer. No joining fee is stated on the current Home House Studio membership pages.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $4,000 one-timeResident Membership, age 40 and over. No-APR financing of the initiation fee is available for up to one year under contract, with conditions.verified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Annual | Monthly dues for resident and under-40 members; quarterly dues for non-resident members |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Business programming, speaker events and networking sessions; the club advertised roughly 20 events a month in its early years | More than 400 member and signature events a year; clubhouse and gym accessible 24 hours |
| Peer forums | Not documented | Not documented |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | No |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | No | No |
| Online community | Not documented | No |
| Member directory | Not documented | Not documented |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Partial |
| Leadership development | Yes | Partial |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | No | Yes |
| Family programming | No | Not documented |
| Spouse and partner programming | No | Yes |
| Next-generation programming | No | Yes |
| Investment discussions | Yes | No |
| Investment opportunities | Partial | No |
| Philanthropic component | Partial | Partial |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Medium | High |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Home Grown · The Rainier Club