Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 17 material differences

Family Business UK vs The PEER 150

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Family-business organization

Family Business UK

UK family businesses of any size and generation: owners, shareholders, family directors, next-generation family members and the non-family executives and NEDs who work with them

Verified September 2026
Networking organization

The PEER 150

Chief human resources officers, chief people officers and other senior HR leaders at large US employers

What the records say

Side by side

Family Business UKThe PEER 150
Profile
Type Family-business organization Networking organization
Founded 2001 (Incorporated at Companies House on 25 July 2001 as The Institute for Family Business (UK); FBUK's own about page dates the organisation to 2001.) 2014 ("Thus, in 2014, The PEER 150 was born" per the organisation's own story page.)
Headquarters London, United Kingdom Portland, United States
Geographic footprint United Kingdom-wide, with regional events across the UK regions and nations United States: 12 regional chapters - Atlanta, Austin, Boston, Chicago, Dallas, Los Angeles, Minneapolis, Nashville, New York, Portland, San Francisco and Seattle
Members Not publicly disclosed: FBUK describes itself as the UK's largest organisation dedicated to family businesses but publishes no member figure. 800as of September 2026
Chapters FBUK has no formal chapters. It runs regional events plus six member communities segmented by role and generation. 12
Primary audience UK family businesses of any size and generation: owners, shareholders, family directors, next-generation family members and the non-family executives and NEDs who work with them Chief human resources officers, chief people officers and other senior HR leaders at large US employers
Typical member Members range from very large, long-established British family firms to first-generation businesses, across every sector. Membership is taken by the company or group and covers the whole family and the whole business: any shareholder, family member or employee, including non-family executives, non-executive directors and next-generation members, may take part in activities. Members are CHROs, chief people officers, EVPs and SVPs of HR and comparable senior people leaders at large US employers; the member directory lists executives from companies including Kaiser Permanente, Nike, Georgia Power, Chick-fil-A and NCR Voyix. The organisation reports a mix of C-suite, VP/SVP and director-level attendees.
Qualification
Role or title No published role or title Senior HR leader - CHRO, chief people officer, EVP/SVP/VP of human resources or equivalentThe organisation describes itself as a national community of senior HR leaders; membership pages do not publish a formal written title test.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction United KingdomFBUK represents UK family businesses and works with European Family Business to represent UK interests in Europe.verified September 2026 · source ↗ United Statesverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No Sometimes
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants complete the online form at familybusinessuk.org/members/apply and select the fee band matching their three-year average turnover; a membership brochure is published as a PDF. No sponsorship, interview or vetting stage is described. Communities are joined afterwards by contacting the FBUK office. Prospective members complete an application form on the website. The organisation reviews applicants for seniority and fit within the local HR community before granting access to events and the member channels. No sponsor or dues payment is involved.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed: no acceptance criteria or rejection process is published; membership appears open to any UK family business at the published band. Not publicly disclosed. Gatherings are described as invite-only and applications are reviewed, but no acceptance data is published.
Cost
Annual dues £550–4,675 a yearEight published bands set by average turnover over the preceding three years, excluding VAT: under £500k = £550; £500k–£999k = £1,090; £1m–£4.99m = £1,520; £5m–£9.99m = £1,955; £10m–£49.99m = £2,530; £50m–£149.99m = £3,360; £150m–£499.99m = £4,000; above £500m = £4,675.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $0 a yearThe organisation's application page states plainly that membership is completely free. The business is funded by event sponsors and partners.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee No joining fee is published.verified September 2026 $0 one-timeNo joining fee; membership carries no charge.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Programme fee Not publicly disclosed: the Future Leaders Programme fee is not published; conferences and masterclasses are charged separately at discounted member rates.verified September 2026 Membership is free. Revenue comes from sponsorship and partnership packages sold to vendors.
Event costs Dues are banded by turnover and exclude VAT. Events and the Future Leaders Programme are charged on top, with member discounts. Member events including the National Summit are included in membership. The PDXYZ conference sells registrations more widely; its member pricing is not published.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Annual Not documented
Structure
Meeting frequency Annual conference and policy summit; masterclass series, regional events and community sessions through the year; Family Business Week annually Regional dinners through the year in each chapter city, plus virtual webinars and roundtables, the annual National Summit and the PDXYZ conference
Peer forums Six member communities (Chairs, NextGen, NowGen, Family Council, Non-Family Executives and Policy), described as private, curated peer groups organised by role and generation No standing facilitated forums. The core format is a regional dinner of 40-70 senior HR leaders hosted at a member's headquarters, with a tour, workshop or presentation
Confidentiality FBUK describes the communities as a safe space to share experiences; no formal written confidentiality policy is published. The organisation emphasises candid, unfiltered discussion under a "Come As You Are" philosophy, but publishes no formal confidentiality rule
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused, Forum-based, Virtual Chapter-based, Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums Yes Partial
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership Partial Yes
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Partial Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Partial
Retreats Not documented No
Travel No No
Family programming Yes No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming Yes No
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Medium High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Family Business UK · The PEER 150