Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Family-business organization · Family business · Business owners

Status: Renamed. The Institute for Family Business was renamed. Companies House records the legal name change of company 04258666 from THE INSTITUTE FOR FAMILY BUSINESS (UK) to FAMILY BUSINESSES UK LTD on 5 April 2023, and the organisation publicly relaunched as Family Business UK on 3 July 2023. The organisation is active under the new name; the old ifb.org.uk domain no longer serves reliably.

Family Business UK

Family Businesses UK Ltd (FBUK)

UK family businesses of any size and generation — owners, shareholders, family directors, next-generation family members and the non-family executives and NEDs who work with them

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded2001
HeadquartersLondon, United Kingdom
MembersNot publicly disclosed — FBUK describes itself as the UK's largest organisation dedicated to family businesses but publishes no member figure.
ChaptersFBUK has no formal chapters. It runs regional events plus six member communities segmented by role and generation.
FootprintUnited Kingdom-wide, with regional events across the UK regions and nations
InvitationNot required

Founding — Incorporated at Companies House on 25 July 2001 as The Institute for Family Business (UK); FBUK's own about page dates the organisation to 2001.

Family Business UK is the United Kingdom's principal membership body for family-owned businesses. It was incorporated in 2001 as the Institute for Family Business and renamed in 2023, a change intended to move the organisation from an institute identity toward advocacy and campaigning. Two things sit at its centre. The first is policy: FBUK lobbies government on tax and business conditions affecting family firms, runs a Policy Summit and campaigns through Family Business Week. The second is peer community: membership is company-wide and family-wide, and members are sorted into six curated peer groups — Chairs, NextGen, NowGen, Family Council, Non-Family Executives and Policy — that meet privately by role rather than by geography. Alongside these run an annual conference, masterclasses, regional events and the Future Leaders Programme, a cohort programme for family members preparing to lead. Dues are published as an eight-band scale tied to three-year average turnover, from £550 for the smallest firms to £4,675 for those above £500m, all excluding VAT. FBUK is a not-for-profit company limited by guarantee.

How it works

A family business joins at the turnover band that matches its three-year average revenue, and that single subscription covers everyone in the family and the business. Members then opt into the communities relevant to their role — Chairs, NextGen, NowGen, Family Council, Non-Family Executives or Policy — which operate as private curated peer groups with their own events and working sessions. On top of that sit an annual conference, a policy summit, masterclasses, regional events and Family Business Week. The Future Leaders Programme runs as a separate cohort from March to September for family members moving into leadership.

Typical member

Members range from very large, long-established British family firms to first-generation businesses, across every sector. Membership is taken by the company or group and covers the whole family and the whole business: any shareholder, family member or employee, including non-family executives, non-executive directors and next-generation members, may take part in activities.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Other criterion Membership is open to UK family businesses of any size, sector and generation, including first-generation firms No generation, ownership percentage or wealth test is published. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Geographic restriction United Kingdom FBUK represents UK family businesses and works with European Family Business to represent UK interests in Europe. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Membership is held by the company or group and extends family-wide and company-wide, covering shareholders, family members, non-family employees, NEDs and next-generation members Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Applicants complete the online form at familybusinessuk.org/members/apply and select the fee band matching their three-year average turnover; a membership brochure is published as a PDF. No sponsorship, interview or vetting stage is described. Communities are joined afterwards by contacting the FBUK office.
Sponsor required
No
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed — no acceptance criteria or rejection process is published; membership appears open to any UK family business at the published band.
Membership term
Annual

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to Family Business UK. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual duesa year £2,612£7,838 Eight published bands set by average turnover over the preceding three years, excluding VAT: under £500k = £550; £500k–£999k = £1,090; £1m–£4.99m = £1,520; £5m–£9.99m = £1,955; £10m–£49.99m = £2,530; £50m–£149.99m = £3,360; £150m–£499.99m = £4,000; above £500m = £4,675. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Initiation fee No joining fee is published.
Programme fee Not publicly disclosed — the Future Leaders Programme fee is not published; conferences and masterclasses are charged separately at discounted member rates.
Estimated total, disclosed figures only£2,612£7,838 Not counted: Initiation fee, Programme fee.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Annual conference and policy summit; masterclass series, regional events and community sessions through the year; Family Business Week annually
Peer forums
Six member communities — Chairs, NextGen, NowGen, Family Council, Non-Family Executives and Policy — described as private, curated peer groups organised by role and generation
Confidentiality
FBUK describes the communities as a safe space to share experiences; no formal written confidentiality policy is published.
Time commitment
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Event focused, forum based, virtual
Countries
United Kingdom
Structure
Confidential peer forumsYes
Local chaptersNo
Virtual membershipPartial
Online communityPartial
Member directoryPartial
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentYes
RetreatsNot documented
TravelNo
Family
Family programmingYes
Spouse and partner programmingNot documented
Next-generation programmingYes
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsNo
Investment opportunitiesNo
Philanthropic componentNo
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisMedium

Independent context

FBUK's most useful feature for a prospective member is its pricing: an eight-band published scale tied to turnover is rare in this sector, and it means a small family firm can join for £550 while a large one pays under £5,000. Coverage is broad rather than exclusive — there is no generation test, no wealth threshold and no invitation — so this is an industry body, not a selective network. The peer communities are the closest thing to forum-style value, but they are organised by role rather than as fixed confidential groups, and FBUK does not publish how they are facilitated or whether confidentiality is formalised. The rename is worth handling carefully in any directory: the Institute for Family Business name is still widely used, the old domain still appears in search results, and the legal change dates to April 2023 with the public relaunch in July 2023. Member numbers remain unpublished, so scale is hard to judge.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

Appears in: Groups for family-business owners: federations, national bodies, university centres

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneIncorporated at Companies House as The Institute for Family Business (UK), a private company limited by guarantee ↗
  2. milestoneLegal name changed at Companies House from The Institute for Family Business (UK) to Family Businesses UK Ltd ↗
  3. milestonePublicly relaunched as Family Business UK under chairman Sir James Wates and chief executive Neil Davy, with a stated shift toward advocacy and campaigning ↗
  4. milestoneFuture Leaders Programme launched, running March to September for family members moving into leadership ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. Family Business UK — FBUK, Family Business UK. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. About us — Family Business UK, Family Business UK. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Communities — FBUK, Family Business UK. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. Our network — FBUK, Family Business UK. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  5. IFB relaunches as Family Business UK, Family Business UK, July 2023. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  6. Future Leaders Programme — FBUK, Family Business UK. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  7. Membership — Family Business UK, Family Business UK. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  8. Membership benefits — Family Business UK, Family Business UK. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  9. FAMILY BUSINESSES UK LTD — company overview, Companies House. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 5

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent Family Business UK? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile