Comparison · 19 material differences
Pacific-Union Club vs The Conduit
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Verified September 2026 Pacific-Union Club
Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no statement of who it admits.
The Conduit
The club lists its community as "sustainability professionals, social entrepreneurs and SME owners, investors and philanthropists, creatives and influencers, industry and business…
What the records say
- Geographic restriction: Pacific-Union Club: Not publicly disclosed; The Conduit: Out-of-town membership is available to those who live and work outside the M25.
- Annual dues: Pacific-Union Club: Not publicly disclosed; The Conduit: £1,500 a year.
Side by side
| Pacific-Union Club | The Conduit | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Private club | Private club |
| Founded | 1889 (Formed in 1889 by the merger of the Pacific Club, founded 1852, and the Union Club, founded 1854.) | 2018 (Founded in 2018 by Paul van Zyl and Nick Hamilton; the club's own site states it "was founded in 2018 to convene and catalyse solutions") |
| Headquarters | San Francisco, United States | London, United Kingdom |
| Geographic footprint | Single clubhouse in the James C. Flood Mansion at 1000 California Street, Nob Hill, San Francisco | One clubhouse at 6 Langley Street, Covent Garden, London; the club describes its London home as "the first of our homes" |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed |
| Chapters | Single clubhouse; no chapters | 1 |
| Primary audience | Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no statement of who it admits. | The club lists its community as "sustainability professionals, social entrepreneurs and SME owners, investors and philanthropists, creatives and influencers, industry and business leaders, non-profit and NGO professionals, civil society leaders, and policymakers" |
| Typical member | Not publicly disclosed. Secondary accounts list historical and contemporary members drawn from San Francisco business and public life, including founders of major companies, but the club releases no membership information. | Members are drawn from impact investing, social enterprise, NGOs, policy and business, and are grouped into member-led Community Groups organised around the club's six Solutions Agenda themes. |
| Qualification | ||
| Geographic restriction | Not publicly disclosed | Out-of-town membership is available to those who live and work outside the M25Price for the out-of-town tier is not publishedverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Invitation required | Not documented | No |
| Sponsor required | Not documented | No |
| Application process | Not publicly disclosed. No application route, contact point or membership enquiry channel is published. | Membership is by application through the club's online portal. Applicants are asked to say who they are, what matters to them and what change they are working to create. Prospective members can first book an in-person meeting and tour at the Covent Garden clubhouse or a call with the membership team, available 8am to 7pm on weekdays. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed: the club states criteria in qualitative terms and publishes no acceptance rate or waiting-list information |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 | £1,500 a yearConduit Membership: "£1,500 per year", with a monthly payment plan availableverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 | Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee is mentioned on the membership or FAQ pagesverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Not documented | 12-month contract; the club states that members cannot freeze or pause membership except for parental leave, where a written sabbatical request may be made |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Not documented | Weekly Impact Programming and Community Groups; monthly Ubuntu Friday; three signature celebrations and two Days of Action a year; more than 150 events annually per the club's site |
| Peer forums | Not documented | Member-led Community Groups meeting weekly on Mondays or Fridays, organised around six Solutions Agenda themes: regenerating climate and nature, AI for good, inclusive economies, the future of impact leadership, health and food futures, and reimagining democracy and justice |
| Confidentiality | The club maintains no public web presence and publishes no membership information | Not publicly disclosed; the club publishes house rules and community values |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Not documented |
| Organized as | Clubhouse premises | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused |
| Confidential peer forums | No | Yes |
| Local chapters | No | No |
| Virtual membership | No | No |
| Online community | No | Yes |
| Member directory | Not documented | Yes |
| Events | Not documented | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Not documented | Yes |
| Leadership development | No | Yes |
| Retreats | Not documented | No |
| Travel | Not documented | No |
| Family programming | Not documented | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | Not documented | No |
| Next-generation programming | Not documented | Partial |
| Investment discussions | Not documented | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | No | Partial |
| Philanthropic component | Not documented | Yes |
| Networking emphasis | Not documented | High |
| Social emphasis | Not documented | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Pacific-Union Club · The Conduit