Comparison · 14 material differences
Portfolia vs Toniic
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Portfolia
Accredited investors, predominantly women, who want to invest in venture funds and take part in the diligence process rather than write individual angel cheques
Toniic
Accredited investors and senior staff of family offices and foundations who are moving their own capital toward impact investments
What the records say
- Accredited-investor status: Portfolia: All investors in Portfolia funds must be accredited investors: income of $200,000+ for the last two years and expected forward, or $300,000+ with a spouse, or net assets excluding the home of $1 million; Toniic: Membership serves accredited investors and senior staff of family offices or foundations.
- Gender: Portfolia: Funds are designed by and for women; the FAQ states men are welcome to invest; Toniic: No published gender.
- Annual dues: Portfolia: There are no membership dues. Participation is through a fund commitment rather than a subscription.; Toniic: $7,500 a year.
Side by side
| Portfolia | Toniic | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Investment community | Investment community |
| Founded | Not documented | 2010 (Founding year is not stated on Toniic's own current site; 2010 is reported consistently by third parties including the MacArthur Foundation grantee listing. The legal entity Toniic Institute received IRS 501(c)(3) recognition in August 2015 and is registered in Bend, Oregon.) |
| Headquarters | San Mateo, United States | United States |
| Geographic footprint | Investors in 48 US states and 20 countries; funds invest principally in US companies | Members in 25+ countries; team members based in North America, Europe and Asia with no single office |
| Members | 2,200as of September 2026 | 500as of September 2026 |
| Chapters | No chapters; the organisation is structured around funds | No chapters. Regional Toniic Impact Forums group members geographically and meet more often than global gatherings. |
| Primary audience | Accredited investors, predominantly women, who want to invest in venture funds and take part in the diligence process rather than write individual angel cheques | Accredited investors and senior staff of family offices and foundations who are moving their own capital toward impact investments |
| Typical member | Investors are accredited under SEC rules and span people new to venture and experienced investors. The community is designed by and for women, though the FAQ states men are welcome. Average commitment is about $35,000 per fund. | Members are asset owners rather than advisers: high-net-worth individuals, family offices and foundations. Toniic groups them by stage of deployment as Activators (new to impact investing), Deployers (actively deploying) and Catalysts (fully deployed and focused on collective action). |
| Qualification | ||
| Accredited-investor status | All investors in Portfolia funds must be accredited investors: income of $200,000+ for the last two years and expected forward, or $300,000+ with a spouse, or net assets excluding the home of $1 millionQuoted from the Portfolia FAQverified September 2026 · source ↗ | Membership serves accredited investors and senior staff of family offices or foundationsQuoted from the membership pageverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Gender | Funds are designed by and for women; the FAQ states men are welcome to investNot an exclusionverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published gender |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | No | No |
| Application process | Prospective investors complete an online form or book an introductory call with the investor relations team, then commit to an open fund. Accredited-investor status is required. Funds close when subscribed, and some are marked as accepting only larger commitments once near capacity. | Prospective members complete an online membership application, after which a member of the Toniic team makes contact. Applicants must be accredited investors or senior family office or foundation staff, must intend to move assets toward impact, must be willing to share their investing activity with peers, and must agree to the Code of Conduct. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed. Access is limited by fund capacity rather than by a selection committee. | Not publicly disclosed. Membership in the inner 100% Network is by invitation to eligible members. |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | There are no membership dues. Participation is through a fund commitment rather than a subscription.verified September 2026 · source ↗ | $7,500 a yearGlobal tier, up to two member seatsverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | The published financial commitment is the $10,000 fund minimum. Management fees and carry are not disclosed publicly. | $2,000 one-timeOne-time onboarding fee for the Global tierverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Fund life of up to seven years per commitment | Annual |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Monthly live pitch calls with founders, plus investing classes and events | Regional Impact Forums meeting regularly, local meetups, interactive webinars, investment roundup calls, and an annual global gathering |
| Peer forums | Each fund is led by domain expert partners; investors may join due diligence at the level they choose | Regional Toniic Impact Forums; thematic Impact Funds Circles; working groups on specific investment themes; the 100% Network for full-portfolio committers |
| Confidentiality | Not publicly disclosed | Members agree to a published Code of Conduct; the online community is a private social network and the T100 directory has a members-only view showing which members have invested |
| Time commitment | Self-directed; the platform states investors participate according to available time and expertise | Not documented |
| Organized as | Virtual, Cohort-based, Event-focused | Virtual, Event-focused, Forum-based |
| Confidential peer forums | Partial | Yes |
| Local chapters | No | Partial |
| Virtual membership | Yes | Yes |
| Online community | Yes | Yes |
| Member directory | Not documented | Yes |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Yes | Yes |
| Leadership development | Partial | Partial |
| Retreats | No | Yes |
| Travel | No | Partial |
| Family programming | No | Partial |
| Spouse and partner programming | No | Not documented |
| Next-generation programming | No | Not documented |
| Investment discussions | Yes | Yes |
| Investment opportunities | Yes | Yes |
| Philanthropic component | Partial | Yes |
| Networking emphasis | High | High |
| Social emphasis | Medium | Medium |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Portfolia · Toniic