Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 14 material differences

PREA vs Urban Land Institute

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

PREA

Institutional investors in real estate — public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurers and family offices — together with the investment managers, advisers…

What the records say

Side by side

PREAUrban Land Institute
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1979 1936 (Founded 14 December 1936; the Urban Land Institute name was adopted in 1939 per Wikipedia's history of the organisation.)
Headquarters Hartford, United States Washington, United States
Geographic footprint Primarily North America, with international institutional investor and manager firms among members; PREA runs conferences in the United States and abroad Members in 80+ countries; district councils across the United States, Canada and Mexico, with separate ULI Europe and ULI Asia Pacific regions
Members 700as of September 2026 45,000as of August 2026
Chapters No chapters; PREA operates as a single association with a conference and research programme. 57
Primary audience Institutional investors in real estate — public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurers and family offices — together with the investment managers, advisers and service firms that work with them Professionals across the land use and real estate industry — developers, investors, lenders, architects, planners, public officials and academics
Typical member PREA's membership is organisational. Its own description covers public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurance companies, investment advisory firms, REITs, developers, real estate operating companies and industry service providers. The dues structure separates institutional investors, defined as organisations investing predominantly for their own account, from corporate members selling services to them. ULI's own materials describe a cross-disciplinary membership of developers, investors, designers, builders, buyers, sellers, urban planners and public officials. Wikipedia's breakdown of the membership puts developers at 28 percent, capital sources at 13 percent, service providers at 10 percent and the public sector at 10 percent.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Under 35 qualifies for a reduced dues rateULI's membership FAQ states it offers 50–75 percent savings for individuals under age 35, for professionals in non-profit organisations, government or academia, and for students. Under-35 members are also the constituency for the Young Leaders Group. This is a discount band, not a barrier to joining.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction Corporate membership: organisations providing investment management, advisory, consulting, property management, legal, accounting, appraisal or other services to institutional investors, including REITs and real estate operating companiesverified September 2026 · source ↗ Open to professionals across the real estate and land use industryULI describes itself as "a diverse network of private and public professionals spanning the real estate and land use industry, including developers, investors, designers, builders, buyers, sellers, urban planners, and public officials". No revenue, seniority or wealth test is published.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required Not documented No
Application process Applicants apply online, logging in first if they already hold a PREA account. Applications are reviewed before member-only access is activated; once approved and paid, access is granted the same business day. Applicants create a ULI account and join online, or join by email, phone or post using a printed application with payment. Membership is open on application; ULI's published materials describe no sponsor, interview or committee review. Dues can be paid in one annual payment, on annual auto-renewal, or in twelve monthly instalments, which require a twelve-month commitment.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. PREA states applications are reviewed but publishes no criteria beyond the category eligibility tests and no acceptance rate. Not publicly disclosed; ULI publishes no acceptance rate and its published joining route is open enrolment rather than selection. Invitation-based selection applies within ULI to product councils, not to membership itself.
Cost
Annual dues $9,995 a yearFull Corporate membership — unlimited company representativesverified September 2026 · source ↗ $1,332 a yearFull membership, United States standard rate ($111 per month on the instalment plan). From ULI's own US individual membership application; the form states rates were valid for payments received by 30 June 2023, so the current rate may differ.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee appears alongside the published dues.verified September 2026 Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues Dues are charged to the member organisation, not per individual. First-year billing covers the full calendar year and a prorated credit is issued in year two. Not publicly disclosed. District council participation is included in national dues in ULI's published materials; no separate district council fee is advertised.verified September 2026
Membership term Calendar year; first-year billing covers the full calendar year with a prorated credit in year two 12 months, expiring on the last day of the anniversary month; annual renewal, with auto-renewal and monthly instalment options
Structure
Meeting frequency Conference programme through the year plus research and publications District council events year-round plus ULI Spring Meeting and Fall Meeting; ULI cites 2,900+ events worldwide each year across in-person and online formats
Peer forums No confidential peer forum structure is published ULI Forums and Product Councils are topic-specific member groups that meet regularly; district councils run local committees and a Young Leaders Group
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed as a general membership rule; ULI publishes a Code of Ethics rather than a confidentiality regime
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused Chapter-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No Yes
Local chapters No Yes
Virtual membership No No
Online community Partial Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development No Yes
Retreats No No
Travel No Partial
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Not documented
Next-generation programming Not documented Yes
Investment discussions Yes Yes
Investment opportunities Partial No
Philanthropic component No Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis Low Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: PREA · Urban Land Institute