Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 14 material differences

Summit vs Forum of Young Global Leaders

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Invitation-only community

Summit

Founders, entrepreneurs, C-suite executives and investors, alongside artists, musicians, athletes, scientists, chefs and other public figures the organization describes as makers.

What the records say

Side by side

SummitForum of Young Global Leaders
Profile
Type Invitation-only community Leadership network
Founded 2008 (Wikipedia dates the first Summit Series event to April 2008, an invitation-only gathering of 19 young entrepreneurs at a Park City, Utah ski resort, organized by Elliott Bisnow, Brett Leve, Jeff Rosenthal, Jeremy Schwartz and Ryan Begelman. Summit's own membership page says it has "spent 17 years building" the community, consistent with a 2008 or 2009 start; its community page refers instead to "the past fifteen years".) 2004 (Created by World Economic Forum founder Klaus Schwab in 2004; the community marked its 20th anniversary in 2024. The YGL Foundation describes itself as a private foundation based in Switzerland but does not publish a city on its public pages.)
Headquarters United States Switzerland
Geographic footprint Monthly member gatherings in five United States cities - Los Angeles, San Francisco, Miami, Austin and New York - with flagship events held in the United States and abroad, including Kenya and Peru in the 2026-27 calendar. Members and alumni from over 120 countries; convenings held worldwide
Members Not publicly disclosed. Summit publishes outcome claims for its members - more than US$2.3 billion of capital raised, 150+ co-founder connections, 300+ Series A to C rounds and 68 marriages - but no membership total. 1,400as of September 2026
Chapters No chapters. Membership includes monthly in-person gatherings in five cities and more than 60 touchpoints a year. No chapters; the community is organised in annual classes rather than local chapters
Primary audience Founders, entrepreneurs, C-suite executives and investors, alongside artists, musicians, athletes, scientists, chefs and other public figures the organization describes as makers. Leaders under 40 drawn from business, government, civil society, academia, media, the arts and social enterprise
Typical member Summit describes its community as entrepreneurs, academics, athletes, artists, astronauts, authors, chefs, engineers, explorers, philanthropists, spiritual leaders and scientists. The application asks only for name, contact details, company, role and city, so admission turns on the interview rather than a financial test. Past presenters listed on the site include Jeff Bezos, Bill Clinton, Kendrick Lamar, Brene Brown, Malcolm Gladwell and Eric Schmidt. Members are selected in annual classes of roughly 100-120 people under the age of 40 and include ministers, heads of state, chief executives, founders, scientists, journalists and artists. The Class of 2026 comprised 118 leaders from 55 countries.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining No published maximum age at joining Under 40 at the time of nominationThe Forum's published nomination criteria state the candidate must be "40 years of age or younger at the time of nomination"; the Class of 2026 was described by the Forum as 118 leaders under the age of 40.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Role or title No published role or title Business-sector candidates must run a qualifying company or division as President, Chairman, CEO, Managing Director, Managing Partner, Publisher or equivalentFrom the Forum's YGL nomination criteria document. Where the company is a Forum member or partner, the candidate needs the approval of that company's CEO or Chairman. This document is undated on its face and references the Class of 2015, so the current wording may differ.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required Yes Yes
Sponsor required Sometimes Yes
Application process Applicants complete an online form giving name, mobile number, email, company, role and city. Candidates are then interviewed against two criteria: leadership in their field, and warmth and fit with Summit's eight principles. Separately, anyone can nominate an attendee or a speaker for a Summit event, and members register for flagship events through a signed-in account. There is no application. Candidates are nominated by World Economic Forum members and partners; the site states plainly that nomination is not open to the general public and that unsolicited applications are not accepted. Nominees are then assessed against the Forum's criteria. The Forum's published criteria document describes shortlisted candidates being evaluated by the executive search firm Heidrick & Struggles and finally screened by a selection committee. Nominations for a given class close in the spring of the preceding year.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Summit describes its events as invitation-only and its process as curation, but publishes no acceptance rate or application volume. The Forum states that roughly 100 people are selected each year "from thousands of candidates worldwide"; no acceptance rate is published. The Class of 2026 numbered 118 from 55 countries.
Cost
Annual dues $2,000 a yearSummit Membership: "For $2,000 a year", covering all monthly in-person happenings in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Miami, Austin and New York, curated introductions, priority registration for flagship events and the virtual learning series, full PARTICLE marketplace access and unlimited directory search.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Programme fee Membership is the only published price. Flagship event registration is separate and requires a sign-in, so the total cost of participating is not visible publicly. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Event costs Not publicly disclosed. Ticket prices for the flagship events - Summit Napa Valley, Summit Sarara in Kenya, Summit Basecamp at Lake Tahoe and Summit Sacred Valley in Peru - are behind a sign-in; the public event pages carry no pricing.verified September 2026 · source ↗ The YGL Foundation publishes no fee schedule. Whether members or their employers meet programme, travel or Forum-event costs is not stated on the public site.
Membership term Annual Three-year development programme, followed by lifetime access to the alumni community
Structure
Meeting frequency Monthly in-person gatherings in five cities, described as more than 60 touchpoints a year, plus virtual learning sessions and several multi-day flagship events each year Annual class intake; academic modules, thematic gatherings and Forum convenings through the year
Peer forums No standing peer forums. The structures are city gatherings, curated one-to-one introductions and large multi-day events built around six programming pillars. Annual classes and cohort programming rather than standing small-group forums
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Event-focused, Virtual Cohort-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No Partial
Local chapters Partial No
Virtual membership Partial No
Online community Yes Not documented
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Partial Yes
Retreats Yes Yes
Travel Yes Yes
Family programming No Not documented
Spouse and partner programming Not documented Not documented
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions Partial Not documented
Investment opportunities Partial No
Philanthropic component Yes Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Summit · Forum of Young Global Leaders