Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 8 material differences

Vistage vs TAB

Two commercially run peer-board organizations for owners and executives, one delivered through independent Chairs and one through franchisees.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact — it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Peer advisory

The Alternative Board

Owners and leaders of privately held, growth-focused small and mid-sized companies.

Verified September 2026
Peer advisory

Vistage

CEOs, business owners and senior executives of companies with US$5 million or more in annual revenue.

Vistage and The Alternative Board are the two largest commercially operated peer-board organizations, and they are structurally similar: a monthly board of non-competing business leaders with a paid facilitator, plus one-to-one coaching. The differences are scale and terms. Vistage groups are twelve to sixteen executives, its core programme is framed around companies above US$5 million in revenue, and its Chairs are independent contractors selecting their own members. TAB boards are up to eight to ten owners, run by franchisees who hand-select members, with no published financial threshold, monthly billing and thirty days' notice rather than an annual commitment. Neither publishes a price centrally; TAB's is set by each franchise and Vistage's is quoted by the Chair.

Side by side

The Alternative BoardVistage
Profile
Type Peer advisory Peer advisory
Founded 1990 (Founded by Allen Fishman, reportedly in St. Louis, Missouri, after his own experience of the value a board of directors provided when his company went public. TAB began franchising in 1996.) 1957 (Founded as The Executive Committee (TEC) when Bob Nourse brought together several Milwaukee-area executives; renamed Vistage globally in 2006.)
Headquarters Westminster, United States San Diego, United States
Geographic footprint Boards in 25 or more countries across the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and Australasia, delivered through independently owned franchises Operates in 40 countries, with peer groups meeting locally in cities rather than through member-run chapters
Members Not disclosed as a current headcount. TAB's own FAQ states it has "supported more than 25,000 businesses worldwide", with "members representing over 1,100 industries" who "collectively generate $29.3 billion in gross revenue". Secondary sources report more than 4,600 current members globally; TAB does not publish that figure. 45,000as of September 2026
Chapters 500 Not applicable. Vistage has no member-run chapters; members join a local peer advisory group convened and led by a Vistage Chair. Vistage does not publish a group count.
Primary audience Owners and leaders of privately held, growth-focused small and mid-sized companies. CEOs, business owners and senior executives of companies with US$5 million or more in annual revenue.
Typical member Members are owners and senior leaders of privately held companies, recruited locally by the franchise owner who facilitates their board; competing businesses are excluded from the same board. TAB states members represent over 1,100 industries and collectively generate US$29.3 billion in gross revenue, and reports an average member tenure of 4.7 years. Members are decision-makers at small and mid-sized private companies. Vistage frames its core member as generating "$5M+ in annual revenue" and facing the operational complexity that comes with that scale; separate programmes exist for non-CEO executives and emerging leaders.
Qualification
Role or title Business owner or leader of a privately held, growth-focused companyTAB publishes no revenue, employee or net-worth threshold.verified September 2026 · source ↗ CEO, founder or owner for core membership; separate tracks for C-level (non-CEO), executive VP and vice-president/division-head rolesverified September 2026 · source ↗
Minimum company revenue No published minimum company revenue US$5,000,000+ in annual revenue for core CEO membershipVistage frames this as the profile it serves rather than a hard rule; other programmes exist for smaller businesses and non-CEO executives.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Prospective members contact a local TAB board through the site's board finder. The local facilitator coach screens and hand-selects members, excluding competitors of existing members, and places them on a board. There is no central admissions process. Prospective members complete an application form and are then contacted by a local Vistage Chair, who interviews them and decides whether to place them in a group. There is no published central admissions committee.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Secondary reporting describes TAB as effectively invitation-based, with most members joining through referrals from existing members; TAB does not state this on its own pages. Not publicly disclosed
Cost
Annual dues Pricing is set by each independently owned franchise and is not published centrally. Not publicly disclosed. Vistage publishes no pricing on its site; dues are quoted by the local Chair and vary by programme, role and company size. A 2026 secondary estimate (leadersadapt.com) puts CEO peer-group dues near US$1,380 a month, about US$16,500 a year, with a one-time fee of roughly US$2,500; Vistage does not confirm these figures.verified September 2026
Monthly dues Not publicly disclosed. TAB states that membership dues are billed monthly with no binding contract and 30 days' written notice to leave, but terms and amounts are set locally by each franchise owner and no schedule is published.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Vistage does not publish membership pricing anywhere on its public site.
Membership term Monthly billing, no binding contract; 30 days' written notice required to leave Not documented
Structure
Meeting frequency Monthly board meetings of about four hours (described elsewhere on TAB's site as half-day sessions), plus a monthly one-to-one coaching call Regular peer group meetings, generally monthly, plus one-to-one coaching sessions with the Chair
Peer forums Boards of non-competing business owners, given as up to eight members on TAB's peer-advisory page and 8-10 on its membership page, each led by a TAB Certified Facilitator Coach. Peer advisory groups of 12-16 CEOs, business owners or key executives drawn from non-competing industries, facilitated by a Vistage Chair.
Confidentiality Boards exclude direct competitors and operate as private advisory groups; TAB does not publish its confidentiality terms. Groups are described as confidential; Vistage does not publish its confidentiality terms.
Time commitment About four hours a month for the board meeting plus a monthly coaching call, with a commitment to at least 12 meetings a year Not documented
Organized as Forum-based, Event-focused Forum-based, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums Yes Yes
Local chapters Yes No
Virtual membership Partial Partial
Online community Yes Yes
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Partial Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development Yes Yes
Retreats Not documented Partial
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming No No
Next-generation programming No No
Investment discussions No Not documented
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis Medium Medium
Social emphasis Low Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Which is more appropriate for whom

Editorial analysis, separated from the record above. It follows the methodology. Neither organization is declared better; the question is fit.

TAB tends to suit owners of smaller companies who want a low-commitment monthly board and a coaching relationship, and who will judge the local franchisee. Vistage tends to suit chief executives of larger companies who want a bigger group, a broader programme of speakers and events, and who will judge the local Chair. In both, the person running the group is the product, and the brand is a franchise or licence around them.

Next

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The Alternative Board · Vistage