Comparison · 15 material differences
The Arts Club vs The Clubhouse
This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.
Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.
Verified September 2026 The Arts Club
The club describes its membership as "a community of discerning thinkers and thought leaders, with a shared appreciation for the arts and culture"
The Clubhouse
The company describes itself as "the smarter alternative to a London office for fast growing SMEs and global organisations" and says it was "created by business leaders for…
What the records say
- Maximum age at joining: The Arts Club: Young Member category is "open to applicants under 33 years of age"; The Clubhouse: No published maximum age at joining.
- Minimum age: The Arts Club: Full membership is "open to applicants 33 years of age or older"; The Clubhouse: No published minimum age.
- Geographic restriction: The Arts Club: International applicants must apply to the club nearest their primary residential address; The Clubhouse: No published geographic restriction.
- Annual dues: The Arts Club: £3,200 a year; The Clubhouse: Prices are published per month and exclude VAT; annual cost depends on the tier and contract length chosen..
Side by side
| The Arts Club | The Clubhouse | |
|---|---|---|
| Profile | ||
| Type | Private club | Private club |
| Founded | 1863 (Founded in 1863; Wikipedia names Charles Dickens, Anthony Trollope and Lord Leighton among the founders. The club's own site does not state a founding year on its public membership pages.) | 2012 (Founded in 2012 by Amanda Hamilton, with the first site at 8 St James's Square. The company's own pages do not state a founding year.) |
| Headquarters | London, United Kingdom | London, United Kingdom |
| Geographic footprint | One London clubhouse at 40 Dover Street, Mayfair, plus The Arts Club Dubai; reciprocal arrangements with clubs abroad | Three London locations: St James's (8 St James's Square), Mayfair (50 Grosvenor Hill) and Holborn Circus (20 St Andrew Street). Members also get access to IWG portfolio locations worldwide. |
| Members | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed. The Evening Standard reported more than 800 individual members and 250 corporate clients in March 2016; that figure predates the 2019 administration and change of ownership. |
| Chapters | 2 | 3 |
| Primary audience | The club describes its membership as "a community of discerning thinkers and thought leaders, with a shared appreciation for the arts and culture" | The company describes itself as "the smarter alternative to a London office for fast growing SMEs and global organisations" and says it was "created by business leaders for business leaders" |
| Typical member | Historically artists, writers and collectors; the current roll is reported to include figures from art, entertainment and business. The club publishes no occupational or wealth criteria. | Business owners, executives and professionals who need a central London base for meetings and work between them, plus corporate accounts. The company names Deloitte, Amazon, Sky, Samsung, Santander and Tesla among its members. |
| Qualification | ||
| Maximum age at joining | Young Member category is "open to applicants under 33 years of age"Young members receive full access and privileges at a reduced subscriptionverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published maximum age at joining |
| Minimum age | Full membership is "open to applicants 33 years of age or older"Applicants under 33 are directed to the Young Member categoryverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published minimum age |
| Geographic restriction | International applicants must apply to the club nearest their primary residential addressStated on the membership page in relation to the London and Dubai clubsverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No published geographic restriction |
| Invitation required | No | No |
| Sponsor required | Not documented | No |
| Application process | Prospective members submit an enquiry through the "Enquire Now" form on the club's membership pages. International applicants are told to apply to the club closest to their primary residential address. The club publishes no description of committee review, interview or references. | Prospective members choose a tier and contract length and enquire through a web form or by telephone. There is no published application form, committee stage, sponsor requirement or interview. |
| Selectivity | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed; no vetting process is described |
| Cost | ||
| Annual dues | £3,200 a yearFull Member (aged 33 or over): "Annual Subscription £3,200"verified September 2026 · source ↗ | Prices are published per month and exclude VAT; annual cost depends on the tier and contract length chosen. |
| Monthly dues | All four published categories are listed on the club's own rates page. Corporate or house-account terms, if any, are not publicly disclosed. | £190–225 a monthExecutive Member (a London base five days per month): £190 plus VAT on a 24-month term, £200 plus VAT on 12 months, £225 plus VAT month-to-monthverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Initiation fee | £1,600 one-timeFull Member (aged 33 or over): "Member Assessment Fee £1,600", the club's term for a joining feeverified September 2026 · source ↗ | No joining fee is stated on the memberships pageverified September 2026 · source ↗ |
| Membership term | Annual subscription | Month-to-month, 12-month or 24-month contracts, priced differently |
| Structure | ||
| Meeting frequency | Clubhouse open daily; rotating exhibitions, live music and a cultural programme | Daily access according to tier; the company runs a news and events programme for members |
| Peer forums | Not documented | Not documented |
| Confidentiality | Club rules and a dress code apply to members and guests; the club does not publish a confidentiality policy | Not publicly disclosed |
| Time commitment | Not documented | Tiers are defined by usage: five days a month (Executive), ten days a month (Club) or unlimited (House) |
| Organized as | Clubhouse premises, Event-focused | Clubhouse premises |
| Confidential peer forums | No | No |
| Local chapters | No | Yes |
| Virtual membership | No | Yes |
| Online community | Not documented | Not documented |
| Member directory | Not documented | Not documented |
| Events | Yes | Yes |
| Programming | ||
| Educational programming | Partial | No |
| Leadership development | No | No |
| Retreats | No | No |
| Travel | Partial | Partial |
| Family programming | Yes | No |
| Spouse and partner programming | Yes | No |
| Next-generation programming | Yes | No |
| Investment discussions | No | No |
| Investment opportunities | No | No |
| Philanthropic component | Partial | No |
| Networking emphasis | Medium | Medium |
| Social emphasis | High | Low |
Next
Sources
Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The Arts Club · The Clubhouse