Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Private club · Business clubs · Business owners

The Clubhouse

The Clubhouse London Ltd

The company describes itself as "the smarter alternative to a London office for fast growing SMEs and global organisations" and says it was "created by business leaders for business leaders"

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded2012
HeadquartersLondon, United Kingdom
MembersNot publicly disclosed. The Evening Standard reported more than 800 individual members and 250 corporate clients in March 2016; that figure predates the 2019 administration and change of ownership.
Chapters3
FootprintThree London locations: St James's (8 St James's Square), Mayfair (50 Grosvenor Hill) and Holborn Circus (20 St Andrew Street). Members also get access to IWG portfolio locations worldwide.
InvitationNot required

Founding — Founded in 2012 by Amanda Hamilton, with the first site at 8 St James's Square. The company's own pages do not state a founding year.

The Clubhouse is a London business club and flexible workspace operator with three sites: St James's Square, Grosvenor Hill in Mayfair, and St Andrew Street at Holborn Circus. It was founded in 2012 by Amanda Hamilton and positions itself as an alternative to holding a London office, providing lounges, meeting rooms, boardrooms, presentation rooms, event space, hot desks and dedicated desks, virtual office services and a deli, with wifi and refreshments included. Unlike the social clubs in this batch it sells membership by intensity of use rather than by age or social standing: an Executive tier for five days a month, a Club tier for ten days a month, and a House tier giving unlimited daily access, each priced at three contract lengths. The business entered administration in August 2019, and IWG plc, the owner of Regus and Spaces, acquired The Clubhouse London Ltd out of administration on 8 October 2019. Members now also get access to IWG's Spaces, Regus, Signature, Basepoint and HQ locations.

How it works

Members buy one of three usage tiers and book meeting rooms, boardrooms and presentation rooms with priority over non-members, host up to two guests, and use the Clublounge with complimentary refreshments, printing and scanning. Higher tiers add event invitations and unlimited access. There is no committee, sponsor or interview stage described; enquiries are made through a web form or by telephone.

Typical member

Business owners, executives and professionals who need a central London base for meetings and work between them, plus corporate accounts. The company names Deloitte, Amazon, Sky, Samsung, Santander and Tesla among its members.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Other criterion No published eligibility criteria; membership is sold by tier of usage The company's membership pages describe usage allowances rather than admission tests Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Sponsorship No proposer or seconder requirement is published Verified September 2026Medium confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Prospective members choose a tier and contract length and enquire through a web form or by telephone. There is no published application form, committee stage, sponsor requirement or interview.
Sponsor required
No
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed; no vetting process is described
Membership term
Month-to-month, 12-month or 24-month contracts, priced differently

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to The Clubhouse. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Monthly duesa month, counted ×12 £2,490£7,470 Executive Member (a London base five days per month): £190 plus VAT on a 24-month term, £200 plus VAT on 12 months, £225 plus VAT month-to-month Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Monthly duesa month, counted ×12 £3,720alternative tier, not added Club Member (ten days per month): £285 plus VAT on a 24-month term, £300 plus VAT on 12 months, £335 plus VAT month-to-month Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Monthly duesa month, counted ×12 £4,980alternative tier, not added House Member (daily access, unlimited visits): £380 plus VAT on a 24-month term, £400 plus VAT on 12 months, £450 plus VAT month-to-month Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Initiation fee No joining fee is stated on the memberships page Source ↗
Estimated total, disclosed figures only£2,490£7,470 Not counted: Monthly dues (2 alternative tiers, not added), Initiation fee.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Daily access according to tier; the company runs a news and events programme for members
Peer forums
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Confidentiality
Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment
Tiers are defined by usage: five days a month (Executive), ten days a month (Club) or unlimited (House)
Organized as
Membership club premises
Countries
United Kingdom
Structure
Confidential peer forumsNo
Local chaptersYes
Virtual membershipYes
Online communityNot documented
Member directoryNot documented
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingNo
Leadership developmentNo
RetreatsNo
TravelPartial
Family
Family programmingNo
Spouse and partner programmingNo
Next-generation programmingNo
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsNo
Investment opportunitiesNo
Philanthropic componentNo
Emphasis
Networking emphasisMedium
Social emphasisLow

Where it operates

1 cities with a page on this site
Chapter or locationCityCountrySource
The Clubhouse Holborn Circus location London United Kingdom Source ↗
The Clubhouse Mayfair location London United Kingdom Source ↗
The Clubhouse St James's location London United Kingdom Source ↗

Independent context

The Clubhouse is a business club in the literal sense — it sells access to workspace and meeting rooms, not to a social set — and it is the only organisation in this batch that publishes monthly prices tied to contract length. That makes it directly comparable with serviced-office products rather than with Annabel's or the Groucho, and the corporate logo wall on its own site tells you the customer base is as much account-managed as elected. Two caveats matter. First, ownership: since October 2019 it has been part of IWG, so its trajectory is set by a listed flexible-workspace group rather than by a founder, and the Bank site it once ran no longer appears. Second, selection: there is no vetting worth the name, so anyone expecting the filtering function of a members' club will not find it here.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneThe Clubhouse founded by Amanda Hamilton, opening first at St James's Square ↗
  2. milestoneThe Evening Standard reported the club had more than 800 individual members and 250 corporate clients, with annual executive membership at £950 plus tax ↗
  3. milestoneThe Clubhouse entered administration; IWG, owner of Regus and Spaces, was reported to be in talks to buy the business, which then had four London locations in Mayfair, St James's… ↗
  4. mergerIWG plc acquired The Clubhouse London Ltd out of administration at RSM ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. The Clubhouse — London's leading business club, The Clubhouse. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. About — The Clubhouse London, The Clubhouse. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Memberships — The Clubhouse London, The Clubhouse. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  4. IWG to buy The Clubhouse out of administration, Green Street News, August 2019. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 6
  5. Meet London's new breed of members-only clubs for on-the-move entrepreneurs, Evening Standard, March 2016. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 6
  6. IWG plc acquired The Clubhouse London Ltd, MarketScreener (S&P Capital IQ), October 2019. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8
  7. Flexible workspace provider profile — The Clubhouse, The Office Providers. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent The Clubhouse? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile