Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 15 material differences

The Clubhouse vs The University Club of New York

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

The Clubhouse

The company describes itself as "the smarter alternative to a London office for fast growing SMEs and global organisations" and says it was "created by business leaders for…

What the records say

Side by side

The ClubhouseThe University Club of New York
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 2012 (Founded in 2012 by Amanda Hamilton, with the first site at 8 St James's Square. The company's own pages do not state a founding year.) 1865 (Incorporated 28 April 1865, growing out of the Red Room Club formed in 1861 by Yale alumni; stated purpose was the promotion of literature and art.)
Headquarters London, United Kingdom New York, United States
Geographic footprint Three London locations: St James's (8 St James's Square), Mayfair (50 Grosvenor Hill) and Holborn Circus (20 St Andrew Street). Members also get access to IWG portfolio locations worldwide. Single clubhouse at One West 54th Street, Manhattan
Members Not publicly disclosed. The Evening Standard reported more than 800 individual members and 250 corporate clients in March 2016; that figure predates the 2019 administration and change of ownership. Not publicly disclosed
Chapters 3 Single clubhouse; no chapters
Primary audience The company describes itself as "the smarter alternative to a London office for fast growing SMEs and global organisations" and says it was "created by business leaders for business leaders" University graduates. Historically the club required a degree from a recognised college; Wikipedia's account states that members now hold a baccalaureate degree from any accredited institution.
Typical member Business owners, executives and professionals who need a central London base for meetings and work between them, plus corporate accounts. The company names Deloitte, Amazon, Sky, Samsung, Santander and Tesla among its members. Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no member statistics; historical accounts record roughly 502 members in 1879, 2,800 in 1901 and about 4,000 in the 1980s.
Qualification
Gender No published gender Open to men and women since 1987The club voted to admit women in 1987 following city antidiscrimination enforcement; 16 women had joined within a yearverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No Not documented
Sponsor required No Not documented
Application process Prospective members choose a tier and contract length and enquire through a web form or by telephone. There is no published application form, committee stage, sponsor requirement or interview. The club publishes no application process. Its website has no membership page, application form or membership contact; enquiries go through the front office or an existing member.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed; no vetting process is described Not publicly disclosed
Cost
Annual dues Prices are published per month and exclude VAT; annual cost depends on the tier and contract length chosen. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 · source ↗
Monthly dues £190–225 a monthExecutive Member (a London base five days per month): £190 plus VAT on a 24-month term, £200 plus VAT on 12 months, £225 plus VAT month-to-monthverified September 2026 · source ↗ No dues or entrance-fee information appears anywhere on the club's public site. A membership brochure is linked from the home page as a PDF but could not be read in this research.
Initiation fee No joining fee is stated on the memberships pageverified September 2026 · source ↗ Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Month-to-month, 12-month or 24-month contracts, priced differently Not documented
Structure
Meeting frequency Daily access according to tier; the company runs a news and events programme for members Clubhouse open daily for dining, athletics, the library and overnight stays; a variety of social events for members
Peer forums Not documented Not documented
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed House rules bar use of the club name for publicity or press coverage without written House Committee approval, restrict photography, and prohibit using the club directory to solicit business or political activity from other members
Time commitment Tiers are defined by usage: five days a month (Executive), ten days a month (Club) or unlimited (House) Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters Yes No
Virtual membership Yes No
Online community Not documented No
Member directory Not documented Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming No Partial
Leadership development No No
Retreats No No
Travel Partial Not documented
Family programming No Not documented
Spouse and partner programming No Not documented
Next-generation programming No Not documented
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No Not documented
Networking emphasis Medium Low
Social emphasis Low High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The Clubhouse · The University Club of New York