Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 18 material differences

CREDA (formerly NAIOP) vs NVCA

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Professional association

CREDA (formerly NAIOP)

Commercial real estate developers, owners, investors and asset managers, plus the professional and service firms that work with them

Verified September 2026
Professional association

NVCA

Firms that invest venture-stage risk equity capital in the United States, plus the service providers who work with them

What the records say

Side by side

CREDA (formerly NAIOP)NVCA
Profile
Type Professional association Professional association
Founded 1967 (Founded in 1967 as the National Association of Industrial Parks.) 1973 (Founding year of 1973 is reported by secondary reference sources; NVCA's own site does not state it on the pages checked)
Headquarters Herndon, United States Washington, United States
Geographic footprint Chapters across North America, including four in Canada (Calgary, Edmonton, Greater Toronto, Vancouver) United States, with offices in Washington DC and San Francisco
Members 21,000as of September 2026 Could not be independently verified: NVCA publishes a full member directory but no headline count; secondary sources cite figures between 400 and 460 member firms without a clear date
Chapters 54 Not publicly disclosed: NVCA has no chapter structure; it operates from two offices
Primary audience Commercial real estate developers, owners, investors and asset managers, plus the professional and service firms that work with them Firms that invest venture-stage risk equity capital in the United States, plus the service providers who work with them
Typical member Membership is individual rather than corporate, though companies routinely pay for staff. CREDA's application form splits members into Principal members (people whose employer's primary business is development, ownership, asset management or investment) and Associate members (people at firms providing products and services to that industry), with further tiers for second, third and subsequent people from the same firm in the same chapter. Member organizations are venture partnerships, corporate venture groups, family offices, funds of funds and university or accelerator programmes that invest risk equity capital in the US. Membership is held by the firm rather than the individual.
Qualification
Maximum age at joining Developing Leaders membership is for professionals aged 35 and underCREDA states the Developing Leaders programme is "an exclusive program geared specifically for all professionals age 35 and under"; the 2023 application form required proof of age. Members who qualify are enrolled automatically if the association holds their date of birth.verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published maximum age at joining
Minimum employees No published minimum employees At least one full-time employee (or full-time equivalent) dedicated to private equity investingverified September 2026 · source ↗
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Must be investing or planning to invest risk equity capital in the United StatesOpen to non-US firms that invest into the USverified September 2026 · source ↗
Industry restriction Principal membership: employed by an organisation whose primary business is development, ownership, asset management or investmentDefinition taken from the association's own chapter membership application form (2023 edition).verified September 2026 · source ↗ No published industry restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants complete an online membership application, selecting a membership type and a chapter, which together determine the dues. CREDA emails a confirmation or a request for supporting documentation, and new members get immediate access to association resources and their local chapter. Student, academic and public official categories require documentary proof. A firm submits an application form at nvca.org/nvca-application-form/ or contacts the membership team. Eligibility is checked against the risk-capital and staffing tests, and dues are set from the firm's committed capital band. There is no published interview or sponsorship step.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed; the published process is open application with eligibility determined by the applicant's type of employment rather than by selection. Not publicly disclosed: NVCA states eligibility criteria but does not publish acceptance or rejection data
Cost
Annual dues $875–1,250 a yearFull member (first person from a firm), whether Principal or Associate. Range across three of the association's own 2023 chapter application forms: Chicago $875, New York City $1,030, Washington $1,250. CREDA does not publish a national rate; dues are set chapter by chapter.verified September 2026 · source ↗ $500–35,000 a yearStandard VC fund category, banded by committed capital across funds closed in the past ten years: $500 at $5M; $1,000 for $5M–$9.9M; $2,000–$6,000 for $10M–$99.9M (plus $500 per additional $10M); $10,000–$17,500 for $100M–$499.9M (plus $2,500 per additional $100M); $22,500–$32,500 for $500M–$999.9M; $35,000 and above for $1B+ (plus $5,000 per additional $500M)verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee CREDA states plainly that "dues are determined by a combination of factors including age, the chapter you select, and if your company has other members in that chapter", and publishes no national rate card on an open page. The figures recorded here come from the association's own 2023 chapter application forms for Chicago, New York City and Washington and should be read as a 2023 range, not as current national pricing. Not publicly disclosedverified September 2026
Local chapter dues $490–725 a yearAffiliate member (second and third person from the same firm in the same chapter): Chicago $490, New York City $630, Washington $725, per the 2023 chapter application forms.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Dues are firm-level and set from committed capital in funds closed over the previous ten years.
Membership term 12 months from joining; the 2023 application form states dues cover 12 months of membership Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Chapter events year-round plus national conferences; Developing Leaders programming at chapter and national level National events through the year, including the Strategic Operations and Policy Summit and the Leadership Awards Dinner; advisory committees meet separately
Peer forums Chapter committees and the Developing Leaders programme; no confidential peer forum structure is published No peer-forum structure; members organise through advisory committees and policy working groups
Confidentiality Not publicly disclosed Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Chapter-based, Event-focused Event-focused, Virtual
Confidential peer forums Partial No
Local chapters Yes No
Virtual membership Partial No
Online community Partial Partial
Member directory Yes Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Partial
Leadership development Yes Partial
Retreats No No
Travel No No
Family programming No No
Spouse and partner programming Not documented No
Next-generation programming Yes No
Investment discussions Yes Partial
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component No No
Networking emphasis High Medium
Social emphasis Medium Low
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: CREDA (formerly NAIOP) · NVCA