Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Professional association · Real estate · Professional leadership

ICSC

Owners, developers, managers, investors, brokers and marketers of shopping centres and other retail and mixed-use property, plus retailers, public officials and academics

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1957
HeadquartersNew York, United States
Members70,000as of May 2026
ChaptersNot publicly disclosed as a single figure. ICSC organises by region and division rather than by named chapters, and Wikipedia reports relationships with more than 25 national and regional shopping centre councils.
FootprintGlobal; ICSC runs regional divisions and works with national and regional shopping centre councils worldwide, and holds a Washington DC office alongside its New York headquarters
InvitationNot required

Founding — ICSC's own account: "With a $500 payment and a handshake, seven enterprising professionals established ICSC in a downtown Chicago hotel in 1957."

ICSC is a global trade association for the retail property and marketplaces industry. Seven professionals founded it in a Chicago hotel in 1957 as the International Council of Shopping Centers; in July 2021 it rebranded to the initials alone with the tagline "Innovating Commerce Serving Communities", reflecting a widening from enclosed shopping centres to the broader set of places where people shop, dine, work and gather. It is headquartered at 1251 Avenue of the Americas in New York, with a Washington DC office for advocacy. Membership is open on application and priced flat rather than by seniority: a standard membership at $300 a year, with reduced $175 rates for retailers and tenants, for professionals under 40 through the Next Generation category, for public sector employees and for academics, and $50 for students. Most of what members buy is access to ICSC's conference programme, which includes the large ICSC Las Vegas and ICSC New York events, plus research, industry data, a member directory and advocacy work.

How it works

Members join centrally rather than through a local chapter and get access to the member directory, research and reduced rates at ICSC events. Programming is organised by region and division, with large national conferences and deal-making marketplaces as the centrepiece, supported by state and regional conferences and by advocacy from the Washington DC office. Public sector, academic and student applicants must supply evidence of eligibility such as government letterhead, a university ID or a registrar's letter.

Typical member

Membership spans the retail property chain: shopping centre owners, developers, managers, marketing specialists, investors, retailers and brokers, together with academics and public officials. ICSC's own pricing distinguishes companies and individuals who own, develop, manage or support marketplaces from retailers and tenants, who pay a lower rate.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Industry restriction Standard membership: companies and individuals who own, develop, manage or support marketplaces and spaces (excludes retailers and tenants) Retailers and tenants have their own lower-priced category. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Maximum age at joining Next Generation membership: industry professionals under 40 A discounted category, not a barrier to joining. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Industry restriction Retailer membership: companies whose primary business is the direct retail sale of goods or services, or individuals in retail and tenant roles Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Public Sector membership: government employees and elected or appointed officials at any level of government Requires a business card or letterhead carrying a government seal. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Academic membership: educators at accredited colleges and universities Requires a current university ID. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Student membership: full-time undergraduates carrying 12 or more credits, or graduate students carrying 6 or more, at accredited institutions Free for students at ICSC partner universities. Requires a transcript, course list or official enrolment letter. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Applicants join online through the ICSC membership pages, choosing a member type. Categories with reduced rates require documentary proof — government letterhead for public sector applicants, a university ID for academics, and a transcript, course list or registrar's letter for students. There is no sponsor, interview or committee stage in the published process.
Sponsor required
No
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed; the published route is open enrolment with eligibility set by the type of business the applicant is in.
Membership term
Annual

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to ICSC. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual duesa year $300$900 Standard membership Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $175alternative tier, not added Next Generation (under 40), Retailer, Public Sector and Academic memberships all priced at $175 Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $25alternative tier, not added Student membership: $50, or free for students at ICSC partner universities Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee is listed alongside the published dues.
Event costs Not recorded here. ICSC's conferences are separately ticketed and are the main cost of participation, but rates vary by event and were not read for this record.
Estimated total, disclosed figures only$300$900 Not counted: Annual dues (2 alternative tiers, not added), Initiation fee, Event costs.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
A year-round conference programme including ICSC Las Vegas and ICSC New York, plus regional and state conferences
Peer forums
No confidential peer forum structure is published; participation is through events, divisions and committees
Confidentiality
Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Event focused, chapter based
Countries
100
Structure
Confidential peer forumsNo
Local chaptersPartial
Virtual membershipPartial
Online communityPartial
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentPartial
RetreatsNo
TravelNo
Family
Family programmingNo
Spouse and partner programmingNot documented
Next-generation programmingYes
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsYes
Investment opportunitiesPartial
Philanthropic componentNo
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisMedium

Independent context

ICSC is the cheapest of the major real estate trade bodies to join and the one where the membership fee is least of the point: at $300 a year the dues are trivial next to the cost of attending ICSC Las Vegas, which is where the industry actually transacts. Its rebrand is worth understanding rather than skimming. Dropping "shopping centers" was an attempt to move the association's identity beyond the enclosed mall at a point when that format was under pressure, and it makes older references confusing, since the legal name persists in the small print. Membership is not selective, so it confers no status; the useful test is whether your business is transacted at ICSC events. One practical gap for researchers: ICSC does not publish member or chapter counts on its own accessible pages, so the widely quoted 70,000 figure rests on secondary reporting.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneFounded in a downtown Chicago hotel by seven professionals as the International Council of Shopping Centers ↗
  2. milestoneTom McGee, previously a vice chairman at Deloitte, became president and chief executive, succeeding Michael P. Kercheval ↗
  3. renameRebranded to the initials ICSC alone and adopted the tagline "Innovating Commerce Serving Communities" ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: Medium confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. ICSC homepage, ICSC. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. Our Mission, ICSC. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Contact Us, ICSC. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. Become a Member, ICSC. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  5. Member Types & Pricing, ICSC. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  6. International Council of Shopping Centers, Wikipedia. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent ICSC? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile