Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Leadership network · Venture capital · Investor networks

Kauffman Fellows

Working venture capital investors (typically partner-level GPs, emerging fund founders, LPs and corporate venture investors) who already deploy capital

A converted warehouse office with a long table and pendant lamps
Illustration

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1995
HeadquartersPalo Alto, United States
Members1,060as of September 2026
Chapters11
FootprintFellows in 62 countries across six continents; in-person modules and treks rotate between global locations
InvitationNot required

Founding: Started inside the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in 1995; spun out as an independent organization in 2000 and run by the Center for Venture Education

Kauffman Fellows runs a two-year education programme for venture capital investors and maintains the alumni society that graduates join. Founded inside the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation in 1995 and spun out in 2000, it is now operated by the Center for Venture Education, a non-profit based in Palo Alto. Each class of roughly 50 Fellows follows a curriculum organised around three tracks (becoming a better leader, becoming a better investor, and building a better firm), delivered through five four-day in-person modules, a Global Summit, two Global Treks and about 24 virtual forum meetings, totalling 20 to 25 days over two years. Attendance at all modules and summits is required to graduate. Graduation is not the end point: Fellows remain in a permanent community of 1,060 people across 62 countries and 680 firms, organised into eleven regional chapters, ten Special Interest Groups and a members-only platform called KF Connect. The organisation reports that Fellows have backed companies accounting for 15% of unicorns as of March 2024.

How it works

Applicants apply once a year for a numbered class, are interviewed by current Fellows, and are selected by an admissions committee. Accepted Fellows pay tuition and complete two years of modules, treks, a summit and virtual forums. On graduation they enter the lifelong society, where activity runs through regional chapters, Special Interest Groups that meet monthly, and the KF Connect directory and platform.

Typical member

Recent classes are roughly 86% direct VC investors, 72% partner-level or above and 43% founders. Across the whole society, about 55–60% of Fellows are firm founders, roughly 80% are partner-level or above, and about one in three is female.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes: an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Role or title Working venture investor: direct VC investor, emerging or established GP, LP, corporate VC or ecosystem contributor Partner-level or above is preferred but not stated as mandatory; 72% of a recent class were partner-level or higher Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum tenure in role Must already be investing The programme states that applicants who have not begun investing are likely too early Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Must commit to attend all five modules and the Global Summit Attendance at all modules and summits is required to graduate Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Applications run on an annual class cycle. Step one is an online form that the organization estimates takes about an hour, submitted with an application fee. Step two is a set of video interviews with current Fellows. Step three is selection by an admissions committee. For the Class 31 cycle, interviews began in mid-February 2026 and acceptances went out in early April 2026.
Sponsor required
Not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed: Kauffman Fellows publishes detailed class composition data but no acceptance rate or applicant volume
Membership term
Two-year programme followed by lifelong membership of the Kauffman Fellows society

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to Kauffman Fellows. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed: the organization does not publish alumni society dues, if any
Programme feeonce $80,000$80,000 Tuition for the full two-year programme, due before Module 1. Covers venues, meals, materials and mentoring; excludes transportation and lodging. Non-refundable and non-transferable. Limited needs-based scholarships are available. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application feeonce $200$200 $100 for early submission, rising to $300 after the early deadline (dates published for the Class 31 cycle: early 12 December 2025, final 9 January 2026) Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Estimated total, disclosed figures only$80,200$80,200 Not counted: Annual dues.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Five four-day in-person modules, one Global Summit and two Global Treks over two years, plus roughly 24 virtual forum meetings; Special Interest Groups meet monthly for alumni
Peer forums
Class members meet in virtual Forum groups roughly twice a month during the programme; alumni join topic-based Special Interest Groups and regional chapters
Confidentiality
Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment
Approximately 20–25 days over the two-year programme, per the application details page
Organized as
Cohort based, event focused, virtual
Countries
62
Structure
Confidential peer forumsYes
Local chaptersYes
Virtual membershipNo
Online communityYes
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentYes
RetreatsYes
TravelYes
Family
Family programmingNot documented
Spouse and partner programmingNot documented
Next-generation programmingNo
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsYes
Investment opportunitiesPartial
Philanthropic componentNot documented
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisMedium

Independent context

This is a paid fellowship rather than a membership association: the entry gate is a US$80,000 tuition bill plus travel and lodging, and the organisation is explicit that people who have not yet started investing are too early. That framing makes it closest in character to an executive-education programme with a strong alumni network attached; the network, not the curriculum, is what most Fellows cite. Selectivity is genuinely unclear: class composition statistics are published in detail but no acceptance rate is, and the application fee itself is tiered ($100 early, $300 late), which is unusual. Limited needs-based scholarships exist but their size and number are not disclosed. Anyone weighing the cost should note that the headline portfolio statistics describe what Fellows' firms have done, not what the programme caused.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneKauffman Fellows Program founded inside the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation ↗
  2. milestoneFirst class of Fellows graduated ↗
  3. milestoneSpun out of the Kauffman Foundation as an independent organization, managed by the Center for Venture Education in Palo Alto ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. Kauffman Fellows — Leading the Future of Venture Capital, Kauffman Fellows. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. Network — Kauffman Fellows, Kauffman Fellows. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Application Details — Kauffman Fellows, Kauffman Fellows. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  4. Kauffman Fellows Program, Wikipedia. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent Kauffman Fellows? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile