Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Professional association · Women executives · Entrepreneur networks

NAWBO

National Association of Women Business Owners

Women who own an equity interest in a business in the United States, at any size, stage and industry

A hotel salon set for a breakfast panel
Illustration

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1975
HeadquartersUnited States
MembersNot publicly disclosed. NAWBO describes itself as the voice of "more than 12 million women-owned businesses" in the United States, which is a national statistic rather than a membership figure.
Chapters46
FootprintChapters across the United States, grouped into four regions, plus a Virtual membership for women more than 45 miles from a chapter; NAWBO also maintains international alliances
InvitationNot required

Founding — "They formed NAWBO in 1975 in Washington, DC" - Susan Hager, NAWBO's founding president, and eleven other founding members.

The National Association of Women Business Owners was formed in 1975 in Washington, DC by Susan Hager and eleven other women business owners, who began by sharing information on federal contracting and access to capital at a time when women in the United States could not reliably obtain a loan or buy a home in their own name. It describes itself as the only dues-based organisation representing women entrepreneurs across all industries and sizes of business, and combines local chapters with national advocacy. Membership is defined by ownership rather than revenue: a member must be a woman who holds an equity interest in her business, files business taxes, has a business office including a home office, and takes part in day-to-day and strategic decisions. Five paid levels are published. Premier membership costs US$479.40 a year and carries full voting rights and eligibility for leadership and awards; Basic costs US$359.40; Individual Supporting, open to male business owners and to executives of either gender, costs US$500; Corporate Supporting costs US$795; and Virtual membership, for women more than 45 miles from a chapter, costs US$250. A NextGen level serves students and entrepreneurs in the first one to three years of a first business.

How it works

Prospective members either find a chapter within 45 miles of them or join the national Virtual community, then choose a membership level and complete an online form; a welcome email arrives immediately and a member packet follows. Chapters run local programming and are where most in-person activity happens, while national membership adds education through the NAWBO Institute, advocacy campaigns, awards, a member directory and negotiated perks on health, business and travel services. Premier members can vote, hold leadership positions and be considered for awards; supporting members participate in programmes and events without those rights.

Typical member

Women business owners of all sizes and stages, from sole proprietors and independent contractors to owners of larger companies. NAWBO's own definition covers "Any individual who identifies as a woman who owns an equity interest in her business (sole proprietor, partner, LLC member, independent contractor or 5%+ corporate shareholder)". Male business owners and executives of either gender may join as supporting members without voting rights.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Gender "Any individual who identifies as a woman who owns an equity interest in her business" qualifies as a woman business owner for the Premier, Basic, NextGen and Virtual levels Male business owners and male and female business executives may join at the Individual Supporting and Corporate Supporting levels, which do not carry voting rights Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum ownership stake Ownership as "sole proprietor, partner, LLC member, independent contractor or 5%+ corporate shareholder" The 5 per cent test applies to corporate shareholders; other ownership forms have no percentage threshold Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Must support NAWBO's mission and vision, file business taxes (Schedule C/F, 1099s or corporate, LLC or partnership returns), have a business office including a home office, and participate in day-to-day and strategic decision-making No revenue or employee threshold is applied Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Geographic restriction Members within 45 miles of a chapter join at chapter level; those more than 45 miles away join the national Virtual membership Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum tenure in role NextGen level is for students or early-stage entrepreneurs in "the first 1-3 years of your first business", confirmed on joining Price not published for this level Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Three steps published by NAWBO: choose a chapter or the Virtual option depending on distance from the nearest chapter; choose a membership level; and complete a short online application. A welcome email is sent immediately, followed by a member packet, a connection to the chapter or Virtual community, and access to the member portal. There is no interview, sponsor or committee review.
Sponsor required
No
Selectivity
Not applicable in the usual sense: NAWBO admits any applicant meeting its ownership definition and publishes no acceptance rate.
Membership term
Annual

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to NAWBO. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual duesa year $479$1,438 Premier level: "$479.40* annually" - for women who actively participate in their business, with full voting rights, leadership and award eligibility, and both chapter and national benefits. The asterisk on NAWBO's page notes that a US$75 Spring Membership Campaign discount had been applied to the one-time application fee at the time of access. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $359alternative tier, not added Basic level: "$359.40* annually" - entry-level chapter and national membership for women business owners near a chapter Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $250alternative tier, not added Virtual level: "$250.00 annually" - national virtual membership for women business owners more than 45 miles from a chapter Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $500alternative tier, not added Individual Supporting level: "$500.00* annually" - open to everyone, including male business owners and male and female business executives Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $795alternative tier, not added Corporate Supporting level: "$795.00* annually" - for non-women business owners wanting to support a chapter, with sponsorship and visibility opportunities Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual dues NextGen level: price not published on the membership page Source ↗
Application fee A one-time application fee applies; NAWBO does not publish the standard amount, noting only that a US$75 Spring Membership Campaign discount had been applied to it at the time of access. Source ↗
Estimated total, disclosed figures only$479$1,438 Not counted: Annual dues (4 alternative tiers, not added), Annual dues, Application fee.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Chapter programming locally, plus national events including the NAWBO Summit, monthly new member orientations and virtual community events
Peer forums
No confidential peer forums are published; NAWBO Institute programmes such as Circle ($1 Million+) group members by business stage
Confidentiality
Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Chapter based, event focused, virtual
Countries
United States
Structure
Confidential peer forumsPartial
Local chaptersYes
Virtual membershipYes
Online communityYes
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentYes
RetreatsNo
TravelPartial
Family
Family programmingNo
Spouse and partner programmingNo
Next-generation programmingYes
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsPartial
Investment opportunitiesNo
Philanthropic componentPartial
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisMedium

Where it operates

12 cities with a page on this site

NAWBO reports 46 chapters in total; those verified for major cities are listed here.

Chapter or locationCityCountrySource
NAWBO Los Angeles Los Angeles United States Source ↗
NAWBO San Francisco San Francisco United States Source ↗
NAWBO Silicon Valley Santa Clara United States Source ↗
NAWBO Greater DC Washington United States Source ↗
NAWBO South Florida Miami United States Source ↗
NAWBO Atlanta Atlanta United States Source ↗
NAWBO Chicago Chicago United States Source ↗
NAWBO New York City New York United States Source ↗
NAWBO Philadelphia Fort Washington United States Source ↗
NAWBO Austin Austin United States Source ↗
NAWBO Dallas / Ft. Worth Dallas United States Source ↗
NAWBO Houston Houston United States Source ↗

Independent context

NAWBO's distinguishing features are its age, its advocacy role and its ownership-based test. Where most organisations in this database screen on revenue, NAWBO screens on whether a woman actually owns and runs a business - down to a 5 per cent corporate shareholding - which lets a sole proprietor and the owner of a substantial company sit in the same room. It is also explicit that men are welcome as supporting members, and prices that tier above the two women's tiers, at US$500 against US$479.40 for Premier. Two practical notes. First, the difference between Premier and Basic is governance, not programming: voting rights, leadership eligibility and award eligibility. Second, NAWBO does not publish a member count anywhere, and the 12 million figure often quoted refers to all women-owned businesses in the United States, not to NAWBO's membership.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

Appears in: Organizations for women executives and owners, by what they test

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneFounded in Washington, DC by Susan Hager, NAWBO's founding president, and eleven other women business owners, who began by sharing information about federal contracts and access… ↗
  2. milestoneNAWBO's membership page describes the organisation as "a 50-years-strong movement" ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. NAWBO National, National Association of Women Business Owners. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. Connect With Your Local NAWBO Chapter, National Association of Women Business Owners. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. We Are NAWBO, National Association of Women Business Owners. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. Our Vision and Mission - NAWBO, National Association of Women Business Owners. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  5. Join the Nation's Leading Community of Women Business Owners, National Association of Women Business Owners. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent NAWBO? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile