Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Invitation-only community · Women executives · Investor networks

PEWIN

Private Equity Women Investor Network

Senior women investment professionals in private equity, venture capital, private credit and value-added infrastructure or energy, on both the GP and LP sides

A bright members' lounge with velvet chairs opening onto a terrace
Illustration

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded2008
HeadquartersUnited States
Members1,800as of September 2026
Chapters19
FootprintNineteen regional chapters across the Americas, Europe, Africa and Asia; members in 30-plus countries
InvitationRequired

Founding: PEWIN's About page says the network was started by a group of twelve women and describes itself as 18 years old as of 2026; its New York chapter, the earliest listed, dates from 2008. Kelly Williams is the Founding Chair.

The Private Equity Women Investor Network is an invitation-based network of senior women investors in private markets. It was started by a group of twelve women around 2008 under founding chair Kelly Williams and now reports more than 1,800 members and alumni across 30-plus countries, organised into nineteen regional chapters that were established between 2008 and 2025. Eligibility is narrow and explicitly stated: candidates must hold the senior-most investment title available to them (managing director, partner, founder, chief investment officer or asset class head) or be a C-level or investor relations leader, must have at least ten years in private markets, and must work in private equity, venture capital, private credit or value-added infrastructure and energy. Real estate and hedge funds are excluded. Entry is by nomination from an existing member through the member portal, and PEWIN says the nomination process usually takes two to three weeks. Programming includes industry panels, LP spotlights, CIO roundtables and regional dinners, alongside the Pinklight programmes for women-led firms, ASCEND and TOIGO RISE, and the PEWIN Foundation.

How it works

A current member nominates a candidate through PEWIN's member portal; the review takes roughly two to three weeks, and candidates who do not qualify can be renominated later if their role or experience changes. Members then participate through their regional chapter's dinners and gatherings, national and global events, roundtables for chief investment officers, and the Pinklight and foundation programmes.

Typical member

Members hold the most senior investment titles available at their institutions: managing director, partner, founder, chief investment officer or asset class head, plus C-level and investor-relations leaders. PEWIN reports that 93% of members are at C-suite or partnership level, and that members' institutions manage more than $3 trillion.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes: an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Gender Women investment professionals PEWIN describes itself as a network of the most senior women in private equity Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Role or title Must hold the senior-most investment title available (managing director, partner, founder, chief investment officer or asset class head) or be a C-level or investor relations leader Applies to both GPs and allocators Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Minimum tenure in role Minimum 10 years' experience in private markets Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Industry restriction Must work in private equity, venture capital, private credit and/or value-added infrastructure or energy; real estate and hedge funds are excluded Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Sponsorship Nomination by a current PEWIN member through the member portal is required Nomination review typically takes two to three weeks; unsuccessful candidates may be renominated if their role or experience changes Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
There is no open application. A current member nominates a candidate through PEWIN's member portal, and the nomination is reviewed against the seniority, tenure and asset-class criteria. PEWIN says the process typically takes two to three weeks. Candidates who do not qualify at the time can be renominated later if their experience or role changes.
Sponsor required
Yes
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed as a rate. PEWIN publishes hard eligibility criteria and requires member nomination, and reports that 93% of members hold C-suite or partnership-level positions.

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to PEWIN. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed: PEWIN publishes no dues, fees or pricing on any public page Source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed
Event costs Not publicly disclosed
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Regional chapter dinners and gatherings through the year, plus industry panels, LP spotlights and CIO roundtables
Peer forums
Regional chapters and topic roundtables, including a CIO roundtable; no published small-group forum system
Confidentiality
Could not be independently verified: no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment
Not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Chapter based, event focused
Countries
30
Structure
Confidential peer forumsPartial
Local chaptersYes
Virtual membershipNo
Online communityYes
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingPartial
Leadership developmentYes
RetreatsNot documented
TravelNo
Family
Family programmingNo
Spouse and partner programmingNo
Next-generation programmingPartial
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsYes
Investment opportunitiesPartial
Philanthropic componentYes
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisMedium

Where it operates

19 chapters on file · 11 cities

Chapters verified from published sources.

Each dot is a city with at least one chapter on file. City positions © OpenStreetMap contributors.

Main cities

Ranked by how many organizations on this site also meet there.

19 chapters

Chapter or locationCityRegionCountrySource
PEWIN Canada Established 2020; country-level chapter, no base city published Canada Source ↗
PEWIN France Established 2024; country-level chapter, no base city published France Source ↗
PEWIN Hong Kong Established 2015 Hong Kong Hong Kong Source ↗
PEWIN Japan Established 2024; country-level chapter, no base city published Japan Source ↗
PEWIN Nigeria Established 2016; country-level chapter, no base city published Nigeria Source ↗
PEWIN Singapore Established 2024 Singapore Singapore Source ↗
PEWIN Johannesburg Established 2016 Johannesburg South Africa Source ↗
PEWIN Seoul Established 2023 Seoul South Korea Source ↗
PEWIN UK Established 2015; PEWIN's About page names London among its regional chapter cities London United Kingdom Source ↗
PEWIN NorCal Established 2009; PEWIN's About page names San Francisco among its regional chapter cities San Francisco California United States Source ↗
PEWIN SoCal Established 2015; regional chapter, no base city published California United States Source ↗
PEWIN Mid-Atlantic Established 2015; PEWIN's About page names DC among its regional chapter cities Washington District of Columbia United States Source ↗
PEWIN Florida Established 2023; state-level chapter, no base city published Florida United States Source ↗
PEWIN Boston Established 2018 Boston Massachusetts United States Source ↗
PEWIN Twin Cities Established 2020; PEWIN's About page names Minneapolis among its regional chapter cities Minneapolis Minnesota United States Source ↗
PEWIN New York Established 2008 New York New York United States Source ↗
PEWIN Texas Established 2015; state-level chapter, no base city published Texas United States Source ↗
PEWIN Midwest Established 2009; PEWIN's About page names Chicago among its regional chapter cities Chicago United States Source ↗
PEWIN Southeast Established 2025; regional chapter, no base city published United States Source ↗

Independent context

PEWIN publishes an unusually precise eligibility test (senior-most investment title, ten years in private markets, and a named list of qualifying asset classes with real estate and hedge funds ruled out), which makes it one of the clearer selective networks to self-assess against. What it does not publish is price: no dues, joining fee or event cost appears anywhere on the public site, and there is no indication of whether membership is funded by dues, sponsorship or both. Nomination by an existing member is a hard gate, so the network is not reachable cold. Its own headline numbers are inconsistent between pages (1,600+ on one, 1,800+ on another), and a 2019 press release cited 600 members, so growth has been fast but the current figure should be treated as approximate. Best suited to women already at partner level; deliberately closed to those below it.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneNew York chapter established: the earliest chapter PEWIN lists, and the effective start of the network ↗
  2. milestoneFirst chapters outside the United States established, in Hong Kong and the UK ↗
  3. milestoneNamed Kirsty McGuire as Executive Director ↗
  4. milestoneThe PEWIN Foundation announced its first grant recipient, Girls Who Invest ↗
  5. milestoneSoutheast chapter established, the most recent of nineteen regional chapters ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: Medium confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. PEWIN — Private Equity Women Investor Network, PEWIN. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. About — PEWIN, PEWIN. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Membership — PEWIN, PEWIN. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  4. PEWIN Names Kirsty McGuire as Executive Director, Business Wire, June 2021. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8
  5. PEWIN Foundation Announces Its First Grant Recipient Girls Who Invest, Business Wire, August 2023. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8
  6. Four PEWIN Members Raise a Total of $1.5 Billion for their Respective Funds, PR Newswire. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent PEWIN? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile