Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 12 material differences

The Aster vs Harvard Club of Boston

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

The Aster

The club says it is "designed for creative leaders shaping the future of arts and culture" and describes a community built around collaboration in Hollywood

What the records say

Side by side

The AsterHarvard Club of Boston
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded Not documented 1908 (The club's timeline records that 22 alumni men started the Harvard Club of Boston in 1908 with annual dues set at $5.)
Headquarters Los Angeles, United States Boston, United States
Geographic footprint One club and hotel at 1717 Vine Street in Hollywood, Los Angeles, with reciprocal access to more than 100 clubs worldwide through the Sonato network and direct partners Back Bay clubhouse at 374 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston; the club's current site lists no other location
Members 500as of September 2026 Not publicly disclosed by the club. Wikipedia gives approximately 5,000 members across 40 countries; that has not been independently verified and carries no date.
Chapters 1 Single clubhouse; no chapters. Members have reciprocal access to more than 170 private clubs worldwide.
Primary audience The club says it is "designed for creative leaders shaping the future of arts and culture" and describes a community built around collaboration in Hollywood The club states its mission is to be "the social, intellectual, and athletic hub for Harvard alumni and our affiliated community in the Greater Boston area", and its published eligibility extends to alumni of Harvard, MIT, Yale and the Fletcher School at Tufts, faculty and students of Harvard and MIT, medical residents and fellows at Harvard-affiliated hospitals, and the direct relatives of member
Typical member The club characterises members as creative professionals working in and around the Hollywood entertainment industry. It publishes no income, seniority or occupational test. Alumni, students, faculty, parents and affiliates of Harvard and MIT, plus Yale and Tufts Fletcher School alumni, together with a limited number of Commonwealth members admitted as friends and family of existing members. Fees are banded by age and by distance from the clubhouse.
Qualification
Geographic restriction No published geographic restriction Fees are set by the ZIP codes where an applicant lives and works: Resident 1 within 15 miles, Resident 2 within 16 to 50 miles, Nonresident 51 or more miles within the United States, and International outside the United StatesFees are also banded by ageverified September 2026 · source ↗
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No Sometimes
Application process Prospective members submit a membership enquiry through the club's website or by email to its membership address. The club states that all memberships are subject to approval and that an initial membership fee of US$500 applies, with no long-term contract required. No sponsorship, nomination, interview or committee stage is described. Applicants review the eligibility categories and the published dues schedule, then select their affiliation and complete an online application form. The club verifies the applicant's university affiliation directly with the institution and a member of the team follows up to finalise details. The club's Become a Member page asks applicants to allow two to three weeks for review, while its membership FAQ says a membership is activated within 10 to 15 business days; new members then receive membership numbers and an electronic welcome package. Commonwealth applicants complete a separate application and need a member sponsor.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. The club publishes no acceptance rate or waitlist information; it reports more than 500 active members. Not publicly disclosed as an acceptance rate. Eligibility is defined by university affiliation; the only published numerical limit is the 50 Commonwealth places reserved each year.
Cost
Monthly dues $300 a monthFull Membership: "$300 per month", giving "access to all six floors of The Aster, including work, wellness, dining, and event spaces - plus member-exclusive perks and preferred hotel rates". The club states "No long-term contracts required."verified September 2026 · source ↗ $60–426 a monthPublished monthly cost of membership effective 1 September 2026. Resident 1: $135 (25 and under), $154 (26-30), $250 (31-35), $372 (36-40), $426 (41-74), $295 (75+), $385 (HCB plus HCNYC 41-74). Resident 2: $127 / $143 / $206 / $287 / $327 / $262 / $298. Nonresident: $113 / $127 / $159 / $190 / $218, $182 for HCB plus HCNYC. International: $60 / $79 / $94 / $114 / $133. Undergraduate students $85, graduate students $95, Harvard College faculty $125. The facilities renewal assessment is built into these figuresverified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee $500 one-time"Initial membership fee of $500 applies."verified September 2026 · source ↗ $305–4,327 one-timePublished schedule effective 1 September 2026, banded by residence and age. Resident 1 (within 15 miles): $964 for 25 and under, $1,183 for 26-30, $2,280 for 31-35, $3,684 for 36-40, $4,327 for 41-74, $2,763 for 75+, $3,843 for a combined HCB and Harvard Club of New York membership aged 41-74. Resident 2 (16-50 miles): $862 / $1,053 / $1,754 / $2,661 / $3,143 / $2,369 / $2,801 on the same bands. Nonresident (51+ miles, USA): $761 / $920 / $1,242 / $1,622 / $1,958, with $1,520 for HCB plus HCNYC aged 41 and over. International: $305 / $532 / $773 / $1,012 / $1,239. Students $660; Harvard College faculty $960verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Monthly, with no long-term contract required, plus a one-off initial membership fee Ongoing; dues may be paid monthly, quarterly, semi-annually or annually
Structure
Meeting frequency Open daily from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., with more than 20 classes and events a week More than 250 member events a year, virtual and in person, from wine dinners to faculty discussions and holiday events
Peer forums Not documented Member-led Shared Interest Groups (SIGs), plus a Golf Society giving access to regional country clubs and a squash programme with leagues and clinics
Confidentiality Could not be independently verified The club describes itself as an electronic-device-friendly clubhouse and asks only that members not take phone calls in the restaurant; sound-proof phone booths are provided in the Member Commons.
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No No
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership No No
Online community Not documented Partial
Member directory Not documented Yes
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Partial Yes
Leadership development No No
Retreats No No
Travel Yes Yes
Family programming No Yes
Spouse and partner programming No Yes
Next-generation programming No Yes
Investment discussions No No
Investment opportunities No No
Philanthropic component Not documented Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High High
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: The Aster · Harvard Club of Boston