Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Comparison · 15 material differences

Harvard Club of New York City vs Home Grown

This comparison was generated on request from the records. It carries no editorial verdict and is not indexed. The published comparisons are listed on the compare page.

Read down each column for one organization, across a row for the difference. A bronze mark at the left of a cell means the organizations differ on that row. A dash or “not published” means the organization does not disclose the fact; it is not a zero.

Verified September 2026
Private club

Harvard Club of New York City

Harvard University and Radcliffe College degree recipients, current and former faculty, fellows, officers and University appointment holders of at least one full academic year…

Verified September 2026
Private club

Home Grown

Entrepreneurs, investors and business leaders: the club was launched as a "working club" for funded, growth-stage entrepreneurs and described itself as a place giving…

What the records say

Side by side

Harvard Club of New York CityHome Grown
Profile
Type Private club Private club
Founded 1865 (Founded in 1865 by a small group of alumni; the first meeting was held at the Mercantile Library Building on Astor Place and four members attended. A constitution was adopted in 1878 and the club was incorporated in New York State in 1887.) 2019 (Opened on 3 April 2019 as Home Grown, the sister club to Home House, launched by Home House managing director Andrew Richardson)
Headquarters New York, United States London, United Kingdom
Geographic footprint Single clubhouse on West 44th Street, Manhattan, with entrances at 27 and 35 West 44th Street; members are drawn worldwide and dues categories reflect distance from the club One clubhouse at 44 Great Cumberland Place, Marylebone, London W1H 7BS, in four Grade II-listed Georgian townhouses
Members Not publicly disclosed Not publicly disclosed. A 2021 promotional page cited a community of more than 4,500 professionals; at launch the club said it was aiming for about 2,500 members. Neither is a current figure.
Chapters Single clubhouse; no chapters 1
Primary audience Harvard University and Radcliffe College degree recipients, current and former faculty, fellows, officers and University appointment holders of at least one full academic year, current and former University-wide board and committee members, and former full-time students in good standing in a Harvard degree programme for at least one full academic year. Entrepreneurs, investors and business leaders: the club was launched as a "working club" for funded, growth-stage entrepreneurs and described itself as a place giving "entrepreneurial pioneers" resources to build their businesses
Typical member Members are Harvard-affiliated by degree, faculty appointment or University service, plus spouses and life partners admitted in reduced-rate categories. Dues bands are set by years since undergraduate degree and by whether the member lives or works in New York City, the tri-state area, the eastern states, or further afield. Founder-led businesses, investors and professional-service providers. At launch the club said it was targeting a mix of roughly 70 per cent entrepreneurs, 20 per cent investors and 10 per cent service providers.
Qualification
Geographic restriction Dues category is set by home and professional address: Resident/Professional (the five boroughs), Tri-State, Non-Resident East, and Non-Resident West and InternationalWhichever address is closest to the club determines the categoryverified September 2026 · source ↗ No published geographic restriction
Invitation required No No
Sponsor required No No
Application process Applicants apply online in the category matching their Harvard affiliation. The club verifies the affiliation and contacts the applicant with membership information in about three weeks. There is no published requirement for proposers or seconders. A separate route exists for the graduating class of the year and for Harvard summer students. Applications are made online through the Home House site. For the Home House Collection generally, Spear's reports that applicants submit a recent headshot, photo ID, proof of address and, for international applicants, proof of residency, and that the membership committee reviews applications monthly.
Selectivity Not publicly disclosed. Admission turns on verifying a qualifying Harvard affiliation rather than on a published selection or ballot. Not publicly disclosed
Cost
Annual dues $573–2,864 a yearResident/Professional category (residence, business or employment in the five boroughs of New York City), banded by years since undergraduate degree: under 4 years $573; 4 to under 6 $859; 6 to under 8 $1,289; 8 to under 10 $1,910; 10 or more $2,864. Excludes taxes.verified September 2026 · source ↗ £600–3,000 a yearCurrent pricing under the Home House Studio name: "membership starting from £600 per year (Limited Access) or £3,000 per year (Full Access)"verified September 2026 · source ↗
Initiation fee $250–2,864 one-timeEntrance fee applies to all membership categories and equals 100% of a full year of dues, subject to a $250 minimum. Payable in full or in three instalments over two years, the first due on membership activation. No entrance fee applies to Signing Privilege Membership or to widows'/widowers' privileges.verified September 2026 · source ↗ Historic Home Grown joining fee of £299, waived under a 2021 promotional offer. No joining fee is stated on the current Home House Studio membership pages.verified September 2026 · source ↗
Membership term Annual, on a fiscal year ending 30 June; dues payable quarterly, half-yearly or annually Annual
Structure
Meeting frequency Clubhouse open daily, closing to members at 11pm; talks, performances, art classes, wine tastings and other member programming through the year Business programming, speaker events and networking sessions; the club advertised roughly 20 events a month in its early years
Peer forums Not documented Not documented
Confidentiality The club maintains House Rules governing technology use in the clubhouse; specific terms are not published in full Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment Not documented Not documented
Organized as Clubhouse premises, Event-focused Clubhouse premises, Event-focused
Confidential peer forums No Partial
Local chapters No No
Virtual membership No No
Online community No Not documented
Member directory Not documented Not documented
Events Yes Yes
Programming
Educational programming Yes Yes
Leadership development No Yes
Retreats No No
Travel Yes No
Family programming Not documented No
Spouse and partner programming Yes No
Next-generation programming Partial No
Investment discussions No Yes
Investment opportunities No Partial
Philanthropic component Yes Partial
Networking emphasis High High
Social emphasis High Medium
Every value comes from the same records as the individual pages; a dash means the fact is not published or verifiable. Rows are grouped by what a reader decides on, not by data type.

Next

Last verified: not yet reviewed Report an error on this page

Sources

Drawn from the sources listed on each page: Harvard Club of New York City · Home Grown