Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

NVCA · Cost

What NVCA costs

Dues, initiation and other published fees, each with its source and verification date, and an estimate of the first year built only from the disclosed figures.

An initiation fee is paid once. Dues recur — usually annually, sometimes monthly. Many chapter-based organizations charge chapter dues on top of national or global dues, and retreats, travel and events are almost always extra. A figure marked “reported” came from a publication, not from the organization.

Published and reported fees

CostAmountNoteProvenance
Annual dues $500–35,000 a year Standard VC fund category, banded by committed capital across funds closed in the past ten years: $500 at $5M; $1,000 for $5M–$9.9M; $2,000–$6,000 for $10M–$99.9M (plus $500 per additional $10M); $10,000–$17,500 for $100M–$499.9M (plus $2,500 per additional $100M); $22,500–$32,500 for $500M–$999.9M; $35,000 and above for $1B+ (plus $5,000 per additional $500M) Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual dues $1,500 a year University programme category Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual dues $10,000 a year Corporate venture capital investing off the balance sheet — flat fee Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual dues Fund of funds category is charged at 50% of the standard committed-capital rate; family offices are charged on their VC capital, also at 50% for fund investments; emerging managers on their first three funds totalling under $200M have access to a discounted beta programme whose price is not published Source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed

Dues are firm-level and set from committed capital in funds closed over the previous ten years.

What the first year adds up to

Cost calculator →
$17,750first year, disclosed components only
$53,250three years, if nothing changes
1components counted
Annual dues
$17,750 a year

Not counted because undisclosed or variable: Annual dues (2 alternative tiers, not added), Annual dues, Initiation fee. Ranges are taken at their midpoint. This is an arithmetic sum of published figures, not a quotation.

Compared with similar organizations

OrganizationLowest published duesType
UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)$10,200 a yearProfessional association
Invest Europenot disclosedProfessional association
ILPA$6,060 a yearProfessional association
Angel Capital Association$310 a yearProfessional association
TMA$475 a yearProfessional association
ACGnot disclosedProfessional association
Lowest disclosed recurring figure per organization, before chapter and event costs; currencies as published. Cheaper is not better — the cost buys different things. Less expensive alternatives →
Last verified: 6 September 2026 Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. National Venture Capital Association, NVCA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. About Us — NVCA, NVCA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. NVCA Members, NVCA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. 2026 NVCA Yearbook, NVCA, April 2026. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  5. Join NVCA, NVCA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  6. National Venture Capital Association (NVCA), Inc. Magazine. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 6

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.