Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Philanthropic network · Philanthropy · HNW networks

Status: Renamed. The Philanthropy Workshop rebranded as Forward Global in 2023. Its history page states the organisation continues to operate legally under The Philanthropy Workshop while building the Forward Global brand, though the site's own copyright notice reads Forward Global, Inc. The old domain tpw.org now redirects to forward-global.org.

Forward Global

The Philanthropy Workshop (operating as Forward Global) (TPW)

Individual and family wealth holders who are actively deploying significant private capital philanthropically and want structured education in how to do it

A library committee room with a green baize table
Illustration

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1995
HeadquartersLondon, United Kingdom
Members300as of September 2026
ChaptersNo chapters; regional gatherings rather than standing local branches.
FootprintOffices in London (Somerset House), New York and Vancouver; members and programming worldwide, with the 2027 Global Summit scheduled for Amsterdam
InvitationRequired

Founding: Established in 1995 by the Rockefeller Foundation as The Philanthropy Workshop, based in New York.

Forward Global is the current name of The Philanthropy Workshop, which the Rockefeller Foundation set up in New York in 1995 to teach substantial donors how to give strategically. Its history runs through a West Coast programme launched in San Francisco in 2001, a spin-off in 2006 to the London-based Institute for Philanthropy, a merger of the two in 2009 and a rebrand to Forward Global in 2023. It now has offices in London, New York and Vancouver, and reports roughly 300 members deploying about $1 billion a year between them. Membership is by invitation only. The structure is closer to a curriculum than a club: new members start with Essentials, an introductory course built around what the organisation calls head, heart and hands, then take at least two certification-eligible programmes (topic-focused Studios, place-based Global Journeys, or the annual Global Summit) before completing Action Planning, in which members set their own giving strategy with peer feedback. Alongside this sit Action Labs organised by issue, including climate, artificial intelligence, democracy, mental health and wealth transition, weekly breakfast clubs, regional gatherings and a private member app.

How it works

Members are invited to apply, then follow a defined pathway: the Essentials course, at least two certification-eligible programmes (Studios, Global Journeys or the Global Summit), and a concluding Action Planning programme where they set a giving strategy against peer feedback. Continuing activity runs through Action Labs grouped by issue, weekly virtual breakfast clubs, regional gatherings, the annual Global Summit and a private member portal. The organisation also runs matching funds, including a Women's Power and Influence matching fund, and participates in Press Forward.

Typical member

Members are described by the organisation as "individual and family wealth holders who deploy their resources to build a world where all people and the planet can thrive". The membership of roughly 300 collectively deploys about $1 billion a year, implying an average well into the millions per member, though the organisation publishes no wealth or giving threshold.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes: an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Invitation Membership is by invitation only Prospective members may complete an application form to open a conversation, but the organisation states admission is by invitation. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Members are individual and family wealth holders who deploy their own resources philanthropically No net worth, investable assets or minimum giving figure is published. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Certification requires completing the Essentials course, at least two certification-eligible programmes (Studios, Global Journeys or the Global Summit), and the concluding Action Planning programme This is the member pathway rather than an entry requirement. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Membership is by invitation. Interested wealth holders may complete an online application form to open a conversation about membership; the organisation does not publish what happens next, who reviews applications or how long the process takes. Accepted members begin with the Essentials course before moving through the certification pathway.
Sponsor required
Not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed: Forward Global states only that membership is by invitation only, with no acceptance rate, criteria or review process published.

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to Forward Global. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual dues Not publicly disclosed: no membership dues figure appears on the homepage, membership pages or programme pages. Source ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed
Programme fee Not publicly disclosed: fees for Essentials, Studios, Global Journeys, the Global Summit and Action Planning are not published. Source ↗
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Weekly virtual breakfast clubs, regional gatherings, remote education through the year, plus an annual Global Summit; the 2027 Global Summit is scheduled for Amsterdam, 11–13 March
Peer forums
Action Labs organised by issue (climate, artificial intelligence, democracy, mental health and wealth transition) alongside Studios (topic deep-dives) and Global Journeys (place-based immersive learning). No standing confidential peer-forum structure is published.
Confidentiality
Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment
Not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Cohort based, event focused, virtual
Countries
Not publicly disclosed
Structure
Confidential peer forumsYes
Local chaptersNo
Virtual membershipYes
Online communityYes
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentYes
RetreatsYes
TravelYes
Family
Family programmingYes
Spouse and partner programmingNot documented
Next-generation programmingPartial
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsPartial
Investment opportunitiesNo
Philanthropic componentYes
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisMedium

Where it operates

3 chapters on file · 3 cities

Chapters verified from published sources.

Each dot is a city with at least one chapter on file. City positions © OpenStreetMap contributors.

3 chapters

Chapter or locationCityRegionCountrySource
Forward Global (Vancouver office) office 1075 West Georgia St. #1490, Vancouver, BC V6E 3C9 Vancouver British Columbia Canada Source ↗
Forward Global (London office) office T2, The West Wing, Somerset House, Strand, WC2R 1LA London England United Kingdom Source ↗
Forward Global (New York office) office 232 W 116th St #1763, New York, NY 10026 New York New York United States Source ↗

Independent context

This is the oldest of the structured donor-education networks and the only one of its peers that runs an actual certification pathway rather than a calendar of events. The Rockefeller Foundation origin still shows in the curriculum-first design. Two things a prospective member cannot learn from the public materials: what it costs and what qualifies you. Membership is stated to be by invitation only, no wealth or giving threshold is published, and no tuition or dues figure appears anywhere on the site, unusual among philanthropic networks, several of which publish their commitment levels plainly. The $1 billion deployed by 300 members is the only quantitative signal of who is in the room. The renaming also needs care in any directory: TPW is still the legal name per the organisation's own history page, tpw.org redirects to the new site, and material published before 2023 uses the old name throughout.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneThe Philanthropy Workshop established in New York by the Rockefeller Foundation ↗
  2. milestoneTPW West launched in San Francisco ↗
  3. milestoneTPW spun off from the Rockefeller Foundation to the London-based Institute for Philanthropy ↗
  4. mergerInstitute for Philanthropy and TPW West merged into a single organisation ↗
  5. renameRebranded as Forward Global, retaining The Philanthropy Workshop as the legal name ↗
  6. milestoneMembers mobilise $62 million to 102 gender-equity organisations through 160 grants ↗
  7. milestone2027 Global Summit scheduled for Amsterdam, 11–13 March ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: Medium confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. Forward Global, Forward Global. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. History and Mission — Forward Global, Forward Global. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. What We Do — Forward Global, Forward Global. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. Contact — Forward Global, Forward Global. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  5. Apply to Join — Forward Global, Forward Global. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  6. Member Journey — Forward Global, Forward Global. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent Forward Global? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile