Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Professional association · Real estate · Investor networks

PREA

Pension Real Estate Association

Institutional investors in real estate — public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurers and family offices — together with the investment managers, advisers and service firms that work with them

A boardroom overlooking cranes and a half-built tower at dusk
Illustration

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded1979
HeadquartersHartford, United States
Members700as of September 2026
ChaptersNo chapters; PREA operates as a single association with a conference and research programme.
FootprintPrimarily North America, with international institutional investor and manager firms among members; PREA runs conferences in the United States and abroad
InvitationNot required

The Pension Real Estate Association is a Hartford-based non-profit association for institutional real estate investment, founded in 1979. Membership is held by firms rather than individuals and reported at more than 700 corporate member organisations. Its central structural distinction is between institutional investors — organisations investing predominantly for their own account, defined as at least 80 percent of total real estate assets — and corporate members, meaning the managers, advisers, consultants and service firms that sell into that market. Investors pay far less: $1,950 a year for a for-profit institutional investor such as an insurer or family office and $330 for a non-profit one such as a pension fund, endowment or foundation, against $3,995 to $9,995 for corporate membership depending on how many representatives the firm wants. Academic institutions pay $330. Activity is built around conferences, research and publications, an investor-only element to some programming, and a member directory. Applications are reviewed before member access is granted.

How it works

Firms apply, are reviewed, and on approval nominate representatives — one voting representative plus unlimited additional representatives in the investor and academic categories, and a capped or unlimited number depending on the corporate tier chosen. Members then take part in PREA's conference programme, research output and publications. First-year billing covers the full calendar year, with a prorated credit applied in year two.

Typical member

PREA's membership is organisational. Its own description covers public and corporate pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurance companies, investment advisory firms, REITs, developers, real estate operating companies and industry service providers. The dues structure separates institutional investors, defined as organisations investing predominantly for their own account, from corporate members selling services to them.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Other criterion Institutional investor categories require the organisation to invest predominantly for its own account — at least 80 percent of total real estate assets invested This is the test that separates the discounted investor categories from corporate membership. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Industry restriction Corporate membership: organisations providing investment management, advisory, consulting, property management, legal, accounting, appraisal or other services to institutional investors, including REITs and real estate operating companies Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Institutional Investor — Not for Profit: non-profit organisations meeting the 80 percent test, such as pension funds, endowments and foundations Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Institutional Investor — For Profit: for-profit organisations meeting the 80 percent test, such as insurance companies and family offices Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Academic Institution membership: institutions of higher learning focused on real estate and finance; the voting representative must be a full professor Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
Applicants apply online, logging in first if they already hold a PREA account. Applications are reviewed before member-only access is activated; once approved and paid, access is granted the same business day.
Sponsor required
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed. PREA states applications are reviewed but publishes no criteria beyond the category eligibility tests and no acceptance rate.
Membership term
Calendar year; first-year billing covers the full calendar year with a prorated credit in year two

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to PREA. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual duesa year $9,995$29,985 Full Corporate membership — unlimited company representatives Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $5,995alternative tier, not added Standard Corporate membership — four representatives Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $3,995alternative tier, not added Basic Corporate membership — one representative Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $1,950alternative tier, not added Institutional Investor — For Profit (one voting representative, unlimited company representatives) Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $330alternative tier, not added Institutional Investor — Not for Profit, and Academic Institution; both $330 a year Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Initiation fee Not publicly disclosed; no joining fee appears alongside the published dues.
Estimated total, disclosed figures only$9,995$29,985 Not counted: Annual dues (4 alternative tiers, not added), Initiation fee.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Conference programme through the year plus research and publications
Peer forums
No confidential peer forum structure is published
Confidentiality
Not publicly disclosed
Time commitment
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Event focused
Countries
— Not publicly disclosed
Structure
Confidential peer forumsNo
Local chaptersNo
Virtual membershipNo
Online communityPartial
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentNo
RetreatsNo
TravelNo
Family
Family programmingNo
Spouse and partner programmingNot documented
Next-generation programmingNot documented
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsYes
Investment opportunitiesPartial
Philanthropic componentNo
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisLow

Independent context

PREA is the institutional end of real estate: the members are the balance sheets and the people managing them, not developers or brokers. The pricing tells you how the association sees itself. Charging a pension fund $330 and a manager up to $9,995 is a deliberate subsidy of the buy side, and it is the mechanism that keeps allocators in the room at a conference managers want to attend. Anyone evaluating PREA should read that asymmetry as the product. The 80 percent own-account test is the gate that stops managers reclassifying themselves as investors. What is not public is any measure of selectivity: applications are "reviewed", but PREA does not say against what, nor does it publish rejection rates or the size of its individual membership behind the 700 firms.

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestonePension Real Estate Association founded ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. PREA homepage, Pension Real Estate Association. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. About PREA, Pension Real Estate Association. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Become a Member, Pension Real Estate Association. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent PREA? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile