Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1136 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

The Alternative Board · Requirements

The Alternative Board membership requirements

Every criterion The Alternative Board publishes, with its source, the date it was verified and how confident we are in it, plus superseded figures, so you can see how the tests have moved.

A round forum table with twelve leather chairs in a top-floor meeting room
Illustration

Read a requirement as the organization's published floor, not as a promise. A revenue test may have alternative versions for different business types, chapters can set stricter local tests, and invitation-only bodies publish criteria that describe members rather than admit them.

Current published criteria

3 rows
CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Role or title Business owner or leader of a privately held, growth-focused company TAB publishes no revenue, employee or net-worth threshold. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Members are hand-selected by the local TAB facilitator, and direct competitors are excluded from the same board Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Commitment to at least 12 board meetings, with an attendance expectation of 80 per cent of all board meetings Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗

TAB publishes no financial eligibility threshold; selection is at the discretion of the local facilitator.

How admission works

Application process
Prospective members contact a local TAB board through the site's board finder. The local facilitator coach screens and hand-selects members, excluding competitors of existing members, and places them on a board. There is no central admissions process.
Invitation required
No
Sponsor required
No
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed. Secondary reporting describes TAB as effectively invitation-based, with most members joining through referrals from existing members; TAB does not state this on its own pages.
Membership term
Monthly billing, no binding contract; 30 days' written notice required to leave
Primary audience
Owners and leaders of privately held, growth-focused small and mid-sized companies.
Typical member
Members are owners and senior leaders of privately held companies, recruited locally by the franchise owner who facilitates their board; competing businesses are excluded from the same board. TAB states members represent over 1,100 industries and collectively generate US$29.3 billion in gross revenue, and reports an average member tenure of 4.7 years.

Do you appear to meet them?

The qualification tool reads these rows against a profile you give in ranges and explains which criteria appear met, unclear or unmet. Check your profile

If not: alternatives to The Alternative Board (Entrepreneurs' Organization, C12, Vistage, REF).

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. The Alternative Board, The Alternative Board. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. What Is TAB, The Alternative Board. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. TAB Founder and Executive Chairman Allen Fishman Reflects on 25 Years, PRWeb (TAB release), November 2015. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  4. Explore TAB Membership, The Alternative Board. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  5. The Alternative Board — FAQs, The Alternative Board. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  6. What Is a Peer Advisory Board?, The Alternative Board. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  7. The Alternative Board Franchise Overview, Franchising.com. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8
  8. The Alternative Board (TAB), International Franchise Association. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.