Investment community · Investor networks · HNW networks
Toniic
Accredited investors and senior staff of family offices and foundations who are moving their own capital toward impact investments
A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.
Founding: Founding year is not stated on Toniic's own current site; 2010 is reported consistently by third parties including the MacArthur Foundation grantee listing. The legal entity Toniic Institute received IRS 501(c)(3) recognition in August 2015 and is registered in Bend, Oregon.
Toniic is a non-profit global membership community for impact investing, open to accredited investors and senior staff of family offices and foundations who are actively moving assets toward positive impact and are willing to share their investing lives with other members. It reports around 500 members across more than 25 countries. Membership is priced openly: the Global tier is $7,500 a year with up to two member seats and a one-time $2,000 onboarding fee, and the Global+ tier is $15,000 a year with up to six seats and a $4,000 onboarding fee; both include an invitation to the 100% Network for those eligible. The 100% Network is for members who have committed to deploying an entire portfolio toward deeper positive net impact. Members get access to a curated platform of direct deals and funds mapped to the Sustainable Development Goals, thematic Impact Funds Circles, shared due-diligence calls, regional Impact Forums, an annual global gathering and the Activator Series training programme. Toniic states plainly that it is not a syndicate, not an investment adviser and not a broker-dealer: every member invests independently.
How it works
Applicants complete a membership form and are contacted by the team. Once admitted, members join regional Impact Forums, webinars and local meetups, and receive personalised introductions from Toniic staff. An investment team curates co-investment opportunities and sends tailored notifications based on each member's stated impact and investment criteria; members conduct their own evaluation and invest independently. Members who commit an entire portfolio to impact can join the 100% Network and take part in the T100 longitudinal study of those portfolios.
Typical member
Members are asset owners rather than advisers: high-net-worth individuals, family offices and foundations. Toniic groups them by stage of deployment as Activators (new to impact investing), Deployers (actively deploying) and Catalysts (fully deployed and focused on collective action).
Membership requirements
Requirements in detail, with history →Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes: an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.
| Criterion | Published requirement | Provenance |
|---|---|---|
| Accredited-investor status | Membership serves accredited investors and senior staff of family offices or foundations | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ |
| Other criterion | Members must be intent on actively moving assets toward positive impact and willing to share their investing lives with other Toniic members | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ |
| Other criterion | Members must agree to Toniic's Code of Conduct | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ |
| Other criterion | 100% Network membership requires a commitment to deploy 100% of the investments in at least one portfolio in pursuit of deeper positive net impact; invitation is extended to eligible members | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ |
Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to Toniic. See how you compare against these criteria →
Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown, not quotations.
| Cost | First year | Three years | Provenance | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual duesa year | $7,500 | $22,500 | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Annual duesa year | $15,000 | alternative tier, not added | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Initiation feeonce | $2,000 | $2,000 | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Initiation feeonce | $4,000 | alternative tier, not added | Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗ | |
| Estimated total, disclosed figures only | $9,500 | $24,500 | Not counted: Annual dues (alternative tier, not added), Initiation fee (alternative tier, not added). | |
Structure and programming
Independent context
Toniic is one of the few organisations in this batch that publishes both its dues and its onboarding fee, and the seat-based structure is genuinely useful for families who want several people involved for one price. The important boundary is that Toniic curates and connects but explicitly does not evaluate investments for members or act as a syndicate, so members carry all diligence and allocation decisions themselves. The 100% Network is the sharpest commitment on offer anywhere in this batch: full-portfolio impact alignment rather than an allocation, with the T100 research project publishing what those portfolios actually do. That research is a real contribution to the field and is available beyond the membership. Membership requires willingness to open one's portfolio to peers, which will deter investors who treat allocations as private. Toniic's own site publishes no founding year and no headquarters.
Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.
Similar organizations
Alternatives, grouped by need →History and changes
Site-wide change log →- milestoneToniic founded as an impact investing network (year reported by third parties; not stated on Toniic's own site) ↗
- milestoneToniic Institute recognised by the IRS as a 501(c)(3) organisation (EIN 46-4355039), registered in Bend, Oregon ↗
- milestoneReports approximately 500 members across 25+ countries and an impact investment directory of more than 1,500 investments across asset classes ↗
Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.
Take the next step
Check how you compare
Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.
Open the qualification toolRequest membership information
We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.
Request information Apply on their site ↗Follow this organization
One email when its requirements or fees change.
Sources
- Toniic — the global action community for impact investing, Toniic. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
- Contact — Toniic, Toniic. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
- Membership — Toniic, Toniic. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
- Toniic Institute — IRS exempt organization record (EIN 46-4355039), ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer / IRS. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 5
- Toniic — grantee listing, John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8
Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.
Is something wrong or out of date?
Represent Toniic? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.