Peer Group GuideThe membership-network intelligence platform ★
185 organizations · 686 published requirements · 1115 sources Independent: no organization pays for its ranking or its eligibility analysis Every figure carries its source and the date it was verified

Professional association · Private equity · Investor networks

ILPA

Institutional Limited Partners Association

Institutional limited partners — pension funds, endowments, foundations, insurers, family offices, sovereign wealth funds and development finance institutions — that invest in private market funds

A corner office with a long table and a skyline view
Illustration

A profile page holds what the organization publishes and what named sources report: who it admits, what it costs, how it is structured, where it operates, and how it has changed. Every figure carries the date it was checked. A dash means the organization does not publish that fact.

Founded2002
HeadquartersWashington, United States
Members600as of September 2026
ChaptersNot applicable — no chapters. ILPA runs 20-plus regional gatherings across 12-plus countries
FootprintMembers in 50-plus countries; roughly 60% US-based and 40% in Europe, Canada and elsewhere. Offices in Toronto, Washington DC and London.
InvitationNot required

Founding — ILPA describes its origins as an informal networking club of a few dozen limited partners more than two decades ago; secondary sources date its formal establishment as a trade association to 2002

The Institutional Limited Partners Association is the global trade body for investors in private market funds. It began more than two decades ago as an informal club of a few dozen limited partners and now reports nearly 600 member institutions holding over $3 trillion in private equity assets, represented by roughly 7,000 individual professionals across 52 countries. Membership is institutional and deliberately narrow: an applicant must be actively investing in private markets through a limited partner vehicle, must invest primarily captive capital — defined as less than 50 percent on behalf of clients — and must not be a service provider or consultant. Firms investing on behalf of clients can instead join as associate members. ILPA's work rests on four pillars: events, education, advocacy and engagement. It is best known for publishing industry standards, including the Private Equity Principles first issued in 2009 and a widely adopted reporting template, which give limited partners a common negotiating baseline against fund managers. The ILPA Institute runs more than 50 education offerings, and the association hosts a Summit, a Legal Conference, a Members' Conference and a Forum EMEA.

How it works

Institutions apply through one of two application forms — full membership or associate membership — and are checked against the captive-capital and non-service-provider tests. Annual fees are set by a four-tier schedule based on total assets under management. Members get access to ILPA Institute courses, the ILPA Connect platform, the member directory, research including the LP Sentiment Survey, and a calendar of conferences and 20-plus regional gatherings.

Typical member

Members are institutions rather than individuals: public and corporate pensions, endowments, foundations, family offices, insurance companies, investment firms, development finance institutions and sovereign wealth funds. Around 7,000 individual professionals sit under those institutional memberships. Service providers, consultants and general partners are excluded.

Requirements are the tests the organization itself publishes — an age ceiling, a company-revenue floor, a net-worth minimum, a role. Where a figure straddles a range, the organization's own assessment decides. Local chapters can apply stricter tests than the published standard.

CriterionPublished requirementNoteProvenance
Other criterion Must be actively investing in private markets as an institutional investor through a limited partner vehicle Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Must primarily invest captive capital — less than 50 percent invested on behalf of clients Teams that invest on behalf of clients through LP vehicles, funds of funds and co-investments should apply for associate membership instead Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Other criterion Must not be a service provider or consultant Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Application process
An institution submits a membership application request form — a separate form exists for associate membership — and ILPA checks it against the three eligibility tests. Fees are then assigned from the four-tier AUM schedule for a 12-month term. Questions go to membership@ilpa.org.
Sponsor required
No
Selectivity
Not publicly disclosed — ILPA publishes eligibility criteria but no acceptance or rejection data
Membership term
12-month term, renewed annually

Published criteria as verified on the dates shown. Final eligibility and admission decisions belong entirely to ILPA. See how you compare against these criteria →

Initiation fees are paid once on joining; dues recur. Chapter dues, retreats, travel and events are usually additional and are listed separately when the organization discloses them. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not quotations.

CostFirst yearThree yearsNoteProvenance
Annual duesa year $4,410$13,230 Tier 1 — total AUM under $1.5 billion. Fees rise about 5% year over year. Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $6,060alternative tier, not added Tier 2 — total AUM $1.5 billion to under $10 billion Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $7,160alternative tier, not added Tier 3 — total AUM $10 billion to under $25 billion Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual duesa year $8,270alternative tier, not added Tier 4 — total AUM $25 billion and above Verified September 2026High confidenceSource ↗
Annual dues Associate membership fees are not publicly disclosed Source ↗
Estimated total, disclosed figures only$4,410$13,230 Not counted: Annual dues (3 alternative tiers, not added), Annual dues.
Ranges are taken at their midpoint; monthly dues are multiplied by twelve; the first-listed figure of each fee type is counted and later tiers of the same type are shown but not added; retreats, travel, events and anything the organization does not publish are left out rather than guessed. Figures are as published or reported on the date shown — not a quotation.

Structure and programming

Meeting frequency
Annual Summit, Legal Conference, Members' Conference and Forum EMEA, plus more than 20 regional gatherings across 12-plus countries and a webcast programme
Peer forums
No standing peer forums; members convene at conferences, regional gatherings and through the ILPA Connect platform
Confidentiality
Could not be independently verified — no published confidentiality policy was found
Time commitment
— not documented by the organization or a source we could verify
Organized as
Event focused, virtual
Countries
52
Structure
Confidential peer forumsPartial
Local chaptersNo
Virtual membershipPartial
Online communityYes
Member directoryYes
EventsYes
Programming
Educational programmingYes
Leadership developmentPartial
RetreatsNo
TravelNo
Family
Family programmingNo
Spouse and partner programmingNo
Next-generation programmingNo
Capital and giving
Investment discussionsYes
Investment opportunitiesNo
Philanthropic componentNo
Emphasis
Networking emphasisHigh
Social emphasisLow

Independent context

ILPA is unusual in this batch for policing the line between capital owners and capital raisers: general partners, consultants and service providers cannot join as full members, and the 50-percent captive-capital test is a real filter rather than a formality. That exclusivity is the product — it is what lets the association publish terms guidance that reads as an LP position rather than an industry compromise. Pricing is transparent and modest: $4,410 to $8,270 a year depending on AUM, with a stated 5% annual escalation, which is far below what comparable associations charge fund managers. Note that the fee schedule appears on the application page rather than the page titled Membership Fees, which does not list amounts — a small trap when checking prices. The published statistics vary slightly between pages (nearly 600 versus 600 organizations; 50-plus versus 52 countries).

Editorial analysis by Peer Group Guide editors. It is separated from the record above and follows the editorial policy.

History and changes

Site-wide change log →
  1. milestoneFormally established as a trade association, having begun as an informal networking group of limited partners ↗
  2. milestonePublished the ILPA Private Equity Principles, a common set of terms for limited partners negotiating with fund managers ↗

Milestones as published by the organization or reported by a named source. “Record” entries are changes to this site’s own record of the organization, kept in the public change log rather than overwritten.

Take the next step

Eligibility

Check how you compare

Run the published criteria against a profile given in ranges. Nothing is stored.

Open the qualification tool
Contact the organization

Request membership information

We pass on only what you agree to share, and only where the organization participates. You see exactly what is sent before you send it.

Request information Apply on their site ↗
Keep up

Follow this organization

One email when its requirements or fees change.

Last verified: 6 September 2026 Confidence: High confidence Report an error on this page

Sources

  1. Institutional Limited Partners Association, ILPA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  2. About ILPA, ILPA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 1
  3. Join ILPA, ILPA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  4. ILPA Membership Fees, ILPA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 2
  5. ILPA Membership Application, ILPA. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 3
  6. Institutional Limited Partners Association, Wikipedia. Accessed 6 September 2026.tier 8

Source tiers follow the published hierarchy: 1 official site · 2 official membership materials · 3 application documents · 4 annual reports · 5 government filings · 6 reliable business publications · 7 credible interviews · 8 other reputable secondary sources. Sources and data policy.

Is something wrong or out of date?

Represent ILPA? Verified representatives can submit corrections to fees, criteria, chapters and contact details, and add approved material. Submissions are reviewed by an editor and shown as organization-supplied; they never overwrite independent research.

Claim this profile